100 Days of Happiness Day 15 | Family

My exams start in exactly one week from now – well if we’re being precise I’ll have finished my first exam this time next week which is pretty worrying. If I’m being honest the closer it gets to my exams I’m finding it a lot harder to find things that bring me happiness. All I feel is stress and all I really want to do these days is curl up into a ball and cry at the idea of how close those exams are. It seems insane to say they’re next week because it doesn’t seem that long ago since semester 2 started. Now we’re getting ready to sit our final exams of first year and I don’t feel prepared.

Let’s be honest, there are a lot of things to be happy about. I mean sometimes they can be staring you right in the face and you maybe don’t realise because you trapped in your own little bubble, which isn’t always a bad thing. Today’s day of happiness goes to my wonderfully amazing family.

Okay, I know that a lot of people say this making it over used and a little cheesy but I don’t know where I’d be without my family right now. Of course they drive me insane nearly every day but isn’t that the point in family? They can drive you crazy and get away with it because in the next 10 minutes you’ll be laughing with each other. If they didn’t drive my crazy then I don’t think I’d appreciate it when they were being extra nice and kind and just wonderful like they have been for the last few days.

With exams dates circling around each of them have been wonderful. It’s not that they’ve done something spectacular to help take my mind of things it’s that they’ve done small things that bring a smile to my face. They ask me how things are and remind me that whatever happens I’ve got this and it’s times like these when I think you need to hear that the most. I don’t need my mum to tell me everything is going to be fine or that I’ll do my best. I need my mum to tell me that I have this and that I’ll smash the exam. I need her to remind me that I can do this. It’s a simple reminder and it can be something she says without even thinking about it but it’s one thing I love hearing.

Of course, it’s not just my mum who has been amazing these past few days  it’s also my dad. He makes me smile when I feel like I can’t learn anything else or I’m feeling down. He seems to always know what to say to make me realise that feeling stressed out is okay. Again, he says these things without really thinking about what he’s saying but it’s these things that make me smile and appreciate them both. They’re an amazing pair when you put them together and I’m pretty lucky to get to call them my parents. I have no idea where I would be if it wasn’t for those two.

Also my brother has played and important role this past week in reminding me that everything is going to be okay. Firstly, he bought me juice and sweets and I know that this doesn’t seem like a big deal but to me it is. He cares enough to spend his pocket-money on making my day a little brighter which I think is pretty wonderful. Of course, he wouldn’t be my brother if he didn’t jump out and scare me when I left a room or punched me in the arm to remind me who was the stronger one. He has his own way of showing how much he cares and I love him for it!

Without both my parents and my brother I’m sure I’d be lying on the ground right now not really sure how things were going to play out next week. Hey, I still don’t know how things are going to play out when I walk into that exam hall and start my first exam but I do know that whatever happens I’ll do my best. I have faith in myself and I think it’s important to have, especially now. Things may be tough and right now it may be a lot harder to find the happiness over the next week but I do know that it’s there.

Check out my previous 100 days of happiness here! It’s all about running to get rid of my growing stress levels!


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

One thought on “100 Days of Happiness Day 15 | Family

Leave a Reply

