Book Review | Stolen: A Letter to My Captor by Lucy Christopher

“You saw me before I saw you. In the airport, that day in August, you had that look in your eyes, as though you wanted something from me, as though you’d wanted it for a long time.”

★★★★★

With exams and life getting in the way a book, which I was supposed to finish in April, ended up sitting on my bedside table neglected. I found time to read it over these past few days and I feel that the quote below is the only explain my feelings of this amazing book: “It’s hard to hate someone once you understand them.”

Once I started reading this book I found myself unable to stop. Reading while I was eating and when I was supposed to be doing other things, the book got me hooked. Like most good books, I found myself so wrapped up in the plot that an early night turned into finally falling asleep at 3AM!

Once I had finished my thoughts were very conflicted. The novel starts with Gemma, the protagonist, in Bangkok airport where she meets a handsome stranger, Ty, who offers her coffee and slips a pill into it before he gives it to her. Thus, leading her to be kidnapped from the airport and moved all the way from Bangkok to the Australian desert.

I’m going to be very honest with you, I hated Ty and it was for the obvious reasons. He took a 16 year old girl from her family and her life to somewhere she couldn’t escape. I found myself gripping the book and cheering Gemma whenever she got one over on him. Even in her attempts to get away from him all I could think was that she had to do it.

Then comes my conflicted thoughts. Lucy Christopher works magic, just like any good author, and develops a story in these characters that not only changes them but changes your views on them. Ty is no longer this unstable cruel person but someone entirely different, he becomes human. You no longer see him as the man who kidnapped a girl from an airport for no reason but rather a man with a tender heart.

Lucy Christopher created an amazing story that made me feel for the bad guy which was something I wasn’t set on doing from the start. She made me feel sorry for him when I wanted to hate him. She made me see his human side when all I wanted to see was the side of him that took a girl. The book is very well written and it’s a story that will take you on an adventure to explore the Australian deserts. The book even reminded me how much I really want to travel to Australia and explore, however I may stay away from any snakes 🙂

If you’re looking for something to read then I highly suggest this. It’s a terrific piece of work and I’m certain you won’t be disappointed!


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

