100 Days of Happiness Days 79 & 80 | I look like a lobster or a tomato

Like I’ve said before in several posts when we get sunshine in Scotland we tend to make the most of it. Visits to the beach, going to the park and just generally making good use of the sun. I spent way too much time out in the sun these last few days and it’s left me somewhat burnt. I seriously look like a lobster or tomato. I am not showing you a picture you’ll just have to take my word that it’s pretty bad.

I’m hoping that it dies down tomorrow as I’m supposed to be spending the day with my brother. I don’t really fancy walking around with a bright red nose. Yesterday was a pretty fantastic day. I met up with a friend and we went of ice cream and strawberry milkshakes. We had a chat and a wander around some shops before we went our separate ways. Today I basically sat outside reading and I managed to finished the first book in the Infernal Devices series, A Clockwork Angel.

I fell in love with Cassandra Clare’s story telling whilst reading The Mortal Instruments series and if I’m being honest I wasn’t sure how well this series would live up to my expectations. I didn’t think any characters would or could be better than Izzy, Alec, Jace, Clary, Simon and don’t forget Magnus and Sebastian. I found myself suprisingly wrong which I’m happy about. I’m starting the second book, A Clockwork Prince, tonight and I’m excited about it. On that note I’m going to stick my head inΒ a book and live in a fictional world for a few hours. Hope you all have a lovely fun filled weekend.

Check out my previous 100 days of happiness here! It’s all about looking for a silver lining!


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

22 thoughts on “100 Days of Happiness Days 79 & 80 | I look like a lobster or a tomato

    • I finished the first book the other night and loved it. Started the second one straight after it. πŸ™‚

      • You’re lucky with that!
        I had to wait for the second to get released before being able to read it.
        And seriously . . . aren’t those pretty much the most gorgeous covers EVER?

      • I can’t imagine waiting I finished the book and was like I need to start the next one now. I’m so happy I had it to move on to I love it. I’m still on the first chapter but plan to get some reading done tomorrow morning. The covers are so pretty but I think the mortal instrument ones are the same. Have you read that series?

      • I know what you mean. It’s SOO hard to wait for books sometimes!
        Yeah, I love the covers for TMI as well. I’ve read MOST of them. I got about halfway through book five and stopped. I liked the original three much better than the newer ones (which makes me sad).

      • I loved the first three but I felt like the fourth was a little dragged and kind of a fill in book for the fifth and sixth. Which disappointed me because the first three were so amazing. The start of the fifth was also a little disappointing but if you haven’t finished the fifth one yet I’d urge you to do so as it picks up and is full of twist and excitement. Once it began picking up again it became one of my favourites which only got me more excited for the sixth πŸ™‚

      • I really enjoyed the first three as well. I’ve read them a couple times, but I will say I like TID better.

        I might try to get through the fifth one, but it’s been so long since I put it down that I’d probably have to re-read the entire series again . . .

      • I’m really enjoying TID which I was pleasantly surprised at because I didn’t think I’d like it as much as TMI. I don’t who I like better thought Will or Jem, it’s a hard decision! πŸ™‚ Hopefully book 2 will make my decision clearer πŸ™‚

        Yeah I want to read the 6th but it was last year that I read the series so I think I need to refresh my memory and get back into a demon fighting mind πŸ™‚

      • Hm. Will or Jem is a hard one, indeed.
        My mind automatically says, “WILL!”
        But Jem is just . . . he’s so sweet.
        (Which is probably why I’m thinking Will, because I’m a sucker for characters like that.)

        Hehe, how often do you get to say, ‘get back into a demon fighting mind’????
        Gotta love that. XD

      • I really like Will because he has this confidence to him which I’m kind of drawn to but he also has this side of him which he keeps to himself which I’m instantly curious about. As for Jem he is really sweet and caring and he’s just a really likeable, loveable character. It’s hard to choose! I love characters like Will too πŸ™‚

        You don’t get to say it very often. I laughed when I wrote it. Never thought I’d wake up and say that today that’s for sure πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, he really does draw you in, that’s for sure.
        I like Jem so much that I actually FELT BAD for rooting for Will. I don’t know if I’m alone with that, but I seriously did.

        Don’t you love waking up and getting to do/say (just experience in general) something totally unexpected and awesome? I count that as a good day.

      • I’m reading some more of the second book before I head to bed so I’ll be able to tell you if I done that too. πŸ™‚ I’m also hoping I can pick one of the two I like better, it’s proving difficult. Why must all fictional males be perfect?

        Yeah it’s pretty amazing when it happens. If it makes you smile for more than one minute with a huge cheesy grin on your face then I like to say that something special happened πŸ™‚

      • How are you doing with the second book/Will & Jem?
        Have a clear favorite yet??

        LoL, I think we (general we) romanticize fictional males a lot. I know I did that with Will. Like one part of your head says, “This guy has some MAJOR issues.”
        The other part says, “But he’s so funny and wonderful.”
        haha

        I agree with what you said. I think finding anything to smile about during the day counts as a special moment. πŸ™‚

      • I’m about half way through and have equal amounts of confusion. I still don’t know who I like better. I’m loving the book can’t seem to stop reading. I’ve just went and got tea, water and some snacks for a late night of reading! πŸ™‚ Hopefully finish it soon and fingers cross have a clear favourite!

        I have to agree I’m always drawn to characters aand I get attached and then the die, it’s kind of infuriating. The Fault in Our Stars, The Hunger Games, Divergent, Maze Runner, just to name a few. πŸ™‚ It’s not even only books that do it it’s TV show and films, they make you relate to someone and sometimes it’s magical and sometimes it tragic and in rare cases it’s both and I think when you can make it both is when you have something pretty special. I don’t know I might just be rambling on. I guess you kind of understand what that’s like as a writer yourself. You’ve wrote character people must have become attached to. πŸ™‚

        There’s always a reason to smile you just have to look for it. Sometimes they’re harder to find but it’s always there waiting to be found. That sounds cheesy but it’s true πŸ™‚

      • I really am curious as to whether one of them will come out ahead in the preference race with you.
        How was your night of reading?!

        I’m probably one of the only people who hasn’t read the last book in the Divergent series. I’m going to at some point (yes, I know what happens >.<), but I really wasn't happy with the second one and have been putting it off.
        (I haven't had as much time for reading lately as I would like.)
        I also haven't read the Maze Runner books. I'm definitely going to, but I'm waiting until after the movie comes out for that. It looks so good!
        I have a feeling that's going to be another big movie franchise, but I've been wrong before . . .
        Are the books really good?
        (I also haven't read TFIOS! Horrible, I know! Waiting to watch the movie for that one as well, and waiting until the movie is out on Blu-ray. I don't want to cry for two hours in a theater. haha)

        I definitely get what you're saying with it though. Sometimes you just relate/get attached to certain characters, and it's heart-wrenching when they die or have otherwise negative things happen to them.
        I think I've had a few people get attached to a couple of the characters in my book(s). There's a character that comes in during the second one that a few people have loved.
        I get attached to all of them. hehe

        Hey, nothing wrong with sounding cheesy. I definitely agree with what you said there, and I think it's kind of beautiful. Could write more here, but this is a pretty long comment already!

      • So I really liked Jem and thought I was set and then I found out why Will doesn’t let anyone close enough to love him and it broke my heart and now I don’t know who I like, ah this is very confusing! πŸ™‚ My night of reading was great hopefully I’ll get the same done tonight and can finally finish Book 2!! πŸ™‚

        Let’s not talk about the ending. I know why she done it and I understand the decision but it hurts a lot. I Iiked the 3rd one but it wasn’t quite what I expected if that makes sense. I loved The Maze Runner it’s one of my favourites I’ve read recently. I don’t blame you about not going to see TFiOS in the cinema, I balled like a baby and the cute parts and was worse at the sad parts. I was still crying when we left the cinema it was so heartbreaking, in a good way of course πŸ™‚

        I always get attached to characters and it’s normally the ones who turn out bad or the ones who die. Every time I start a new book I’m like okay this time we won’t get attached and then bam it’s 4AM and I’m crying πŸ™‚

        Thanks glad someone does and that it wasn’t just one of those things that made sense in my head and confused everyone else πŸ™‚

      • Sorry it took me a bit to get back with you!
        I got really behind with responding to things on here for a little while there . . . (Not as behind as I’ve gotten at some points before . . .)

        Did you end up finishing that second book?!
        Will does sort of break your heart, doesn’t he?

        I have to give her some major credit for ending that third book in the way she did (which I’m sure was the way she felt it needed to end), knowing how angry/upset it would make people. I really do have to give her credit for that.

        LOL. Definitely glad I’m waiting to see TFIOS then. It’s hilarious that despite having never read the book, just the trailer would make me tear up. When it would be on TV before the release, my husband would be like, “OH NO,” and fast-forward through it very fast. haha
        Kind of ridiculous!

      • No worries, I’ve been pretty busy myself which means I haven’t quite finished the book yet. I’m nearly there though and still as confused about Will and Jem as before πŸ™‚

        My friend said that about the ending too, she was shocked and cried. I’m really worried about it now. Excited but worried.

        I cried at the trailer too actually. It pretty much sums up the book without giving everything away. Haha, you’re husband is a genius. I used to mute the TV when it was on. My parents would look at me weird and I’d just be like “I can’t cry over the trailer again!”

        It’s strange how one book/film can trigger so many emotion but it’s an amazing book and an equally amazing film. You’ll both enjoy it when you get around to watching it πŸ™‚

      • HAVE YOU FINISHED TID?!

        We were talking about the ending of Allegiant, right? I’ll get around to reading that one eventually, but I had some major issues with the second one and heard that the problems I had with it only got worse in the third. That’s a bummer. But I’ll get to it eventually because I’ve read the others and sort of have to. Did you see the movie? I really liked the movie. (Of course I usually like book-to-movie adaptations, especially the YA ones.)

        LOL, My husband is amazing. He’s even gotten to where he says, “Oh no,” when we see the If I Stay commercials. I haven’t read that book either, and the trailer doesn’t get to me as much as TFiOS, but it does a little.
        Did muting the TV help? I think I still would’ve teared up at it anyway. So ridiculous for not having read the book. It really is strange what gets to people sometimes.
        There’s been a commercial lately that sort of gets to me, and all it is is people helping other people out. Kind of funny. XD

      • YES I FINISHED THE SERIES AND OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD!! I may have cried a little and the ending broke my heart but the eulogy! Oh man, I aspire to write a eulogy like that! πŸ™‚ I still can’t choose between those two and I refuse to choose because they are equally perfect! πŸ™‚

        Yeah we were, forever finding books to chat about πŸ˜€ I don’t think Allegiant was as good as the first or second but it’s still good. You’ll enjoy it but reading it will break your heart πŸ™‚ I loved the film, love book-to-movie adaptations especially when they’re faithful ones. The film was so good and can we talk about how amazing Theo James was as Four!?! His chemistry with Shailene was perfect!

        I’m going to the cinema to see If I Stay tomorrow and I’m looking forward to it, kind of. I’m taking tissues because I’ll no doubt start crying as I always do πŸ™‚ I read the book but it didn’t get to me as much as TFiOS, but it was a good quick read πŸ™‚ I read it in one sitting πŸ™‚

        Yeah it did a little and then I learned what they were saying so it stopped working as much. The film is heartbreaking I watched it again today, it’s painful πŸ™‚

        You’ll enjoy the book when you get around to reading it and it’s not ridiculous. πŸ™‚ I think it’s strange how something’s can affect some people and not others. It’s insane how we perceive sad and happy things. It’s insane in a good way of course but equally insane πŸ™‚

        Hope you’ve been well these last few weeks πŸ™‚

      • I’m SOOOO glad you liked them! TID is seriously one of my favorite YA series. Vampire Academy is another great one. Have you read those?

        Hey, can’t complain about book-chatting!

        The film really was great. I’m seriously looking forward to the next one. (And what about the first Mockingjay film?!)
        Uhm, yes please with talking about Theo James as Four! Gah. So good. (Though I’d MUCH rather hear him speak with his normal accent. Just saying . . .)
        I was worried people would be all, “NOOO!” about it. I mean, he’s wa(aaaaa)y older than Four. He’s 30 in real life, so you’d think people would’ve had issues with that. I kind of almost think it was a bit necessary, with Four’s character. But then again, I’ve heard he gets pretty whiny later on . . .

        I’m not really sure how ‘INTO’ a contemporary novel I could get. I’m worried I would get bored, but I’m still going to try both of those books out just to see. I don’t know if I want to sit there crying for hours upon hours, and that’s a problem. haha (We’ve been doing a lot of talking about crying! XD)
        If I Stay is for sure another one that I’ll have to wait for it to be released on Blu-ray before watching. You’ll have to let me know how it is and whether or not there’s a lot of crying involved . . .

        Insane isn’t always a bad thing! It’s pretty awesome thinking about that sort of stuff.

Leave a Reply

