55 Quirky Questions for Readers

As you’ve probably already guessed I loved books. My friend Cora, who’s wonderful blog you can find here, done this a few days ago and I couldn’t help but want to join in on the fun. Anyway below you can find my answers to the questions and if this is something you do over on your blog please leave me a link to it below as I would love to read your answers 🙂

  1. Favourite Childhood Book? – Ps Longer Letter Later by Paula Danziger & Ann M. Martin. Growing up I didn’t read a lot of books like I do now but I read this one a lot.
  2. What are you reading right now? – Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, Lamnet by Maggie Stiefvater and The Guard by Kiera Cass.
  3. What books do you have on request at the library? – I don’t have any right now.
  4. Bad book habit? – Not knowing what to read so reading several books at the same time, I really need stop this. I also hate bending the spines of books so I try to avoid it.
  5. What do you currently have checked out from the library? – Nothing from my local library. However, I have 8 books from my friends book collections.
  6. Do you have an e-reader? – Nope but I read a lot of books on my phone using iBooks.
  7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? – I like one book at a time because it means I finish whatever I’m reading faster. However, because I’m so decisive about what I want to read I end up reading a lot at once.
  8. Have your reading habits changed since you started blogging? – Maybe a little, I mean I review a lot more books that I did before so I pay closer attention to what I think when I’m reading the book.
  9. Least favourite book you’ve read this year? – Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin. Don’t get me wrong I did enjoy the book but it wasn’t what I was expecting. The ending was also a little strange.
  10. Favourite book you’ve read this year? – Paper Towns by John Green. I could talk forever about this book and I think I have before but it’s my favourite book of his yet.
  11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? – I try to do it as often as I can but I normally fall back into the things I enjoy reading really quickly. I read a few the other week that I got from a friend that I wouldn’t have normally read and I enjoyed them a lot.
  12. What is your reading comfort zone? – Mainly YA but I also tend to stick to authors I’ve read and enjoyed before.
  13. Can you read on the bus? – Yup, I travel a lot to get to friend’s houses or university so I always keep a book handy. In fact, no matter where I’m going I normally have a book in my bag.
  14. Favourite place to read? – Either my bed or on a comfy chair with little noise.
  15. What’s your policy on book lending? – I only lend books to people I trust and people I know won’t wreck my book, if anyone else asks I’m always hesitant.
  16. Do you dog ear your books? – Nope, it’s a pet hate. I use bookmarks or a piece of paper.
  17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books? – I don’t think I’ve ever done it. I’ve highlighted school books but if I want to write something down on the book I have a notepad by my bed just in case, it’s normally filled with quotes I love.
  18. Do you break the spines of your books? – Nope, it’s another pet hate. I’ll do everything I possibly can not to bend a spine of a book.
  19. What is your favourite language to read? – English since it’s my main language. I’ve read in French but that was mainly for school work.
  20. What makes you love a book? – If I’ve already loved the author that tends to be a big plus. I like something that draws me in so I can’t put the book down and it makes me get lost in the story and the characters.
  21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? – When I read something and I either cried, couldn’t put the book down, or got engrossed in the book. Sometimes I just recommend books so other people can feel the pain I went through *cough* Allegiant *cough* The Fault in Our Stars *cough*
  22. Favourite genre? – Young Adult
  23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did)? – Horror, I have horror books on my to-read list. I just never read them because I’m such wimp. I do most of my reading before bed and the two don’t really mix.
  24. Favourite Biography? – Seriously…I’m Kidding Ellen Degeneres. I love Ellen!
  25. Have you ever read a self-help book (and, was it actually helpful?) – I don’t think I have.
  26. Favourite Cookbook? – Anything Jamie Oliver my mums a fan of him. I’m also excited to get Hannah Hart’s My Drunk Kitchen cookbook.
  27. Most Inspirational book you’ve read this year? – The Shock of The Fall by Nathan Filler. I’m still thinking about this book after reading it at the start of summer.
  28. Favourite reading snack? – Chocolate or popcorn and a cup of tea
  29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience? – Revenger Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger. I just think the hype about the book was better than the actual book.
  30. How often do you agree with critics about a book? – I don’t usually read critics reviews. I tend to listen to friends and bloggers who have reviewed a book.
  31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? – I tend not to give a bad reviews because I feel there is something positive you can find about every book. Plus, I don’t like ruining a book for others who may like it.
  32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose? – Italian, I wanted to learn the language when I was at school but it didn’t work out.
  33. Most intimidating book you’ve read? – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hossenin, this book is still with me. I took me a while to finish it but I’m glad I did.
  34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin? – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, I’m a little nervous because there’s so much hype about this book. I don’t want the hype to ruin the book for me. I’ll read it at some point.
  35. Favourite poet? – TS Eliot
  36. How may books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time? – I don’t normally take books from my local library but I often have about 3-5 from friend’s collection.
  37. How often do you return book to the library unread? – Not very often
  38. Favourite fictional character? – Hmm, Katniss from The Hunger Games or Clary from The Mortal Instruments
  39. Favourite fictional villain? – Either Voldemort or Sebastian for TMI
  40. Books you’re most likely to bring on vacation? – A series I’ve enjoyed so The Hunger Games, Divergent, Maze Runner.
  41. The longest time you’ve gone without reading? – A few years when I started high school started back up at the end of high school though.
  42. Name a book you could not/would not finish? – Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger. I skipped so much of that book it wasn’t my cup of tea.
  43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading? – Anything I have a short attention span
  44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel? – Obviously Catching Fire but The Fault in Our Stars is a close second.
  45. Most disappointing film adaptation? – The Golden Compass. I watched the film before I read the book and because of this I couldn’t work my way through the book. Hopefully I will one day.
  46. Most money you’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time? – It was about £60
  47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? – I tend not to skim books I read the blurb and the first chapter to see if it’s something I’ll enjoy. I don’t like wasting the plot.
  48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through? – If I don’t like the plot or the story is just dragging.
  49. Do you like to keep your books organized? – Yes, series together and authors in alphabetical order.
  50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read? – I keep mine because I always re-read them. If I haven’t enjoyed it then I’ll give it to a charity shop.
  51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding? – Not really, The Book Thief for the reason above but nothing else.
  52. Name a book that made you angry? – Allegiant by Veronica Roth but only because of the way she ended it. However, looking back I now understand why she done it and although I don’t like it I accept it.
  53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did? – Stolen: A Letter to My Captor by Lucy Christopher. I don’t normally read books like this but I enjoyed it a lot.
  54. A book you expected to like but didn’t? – Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion, don’t get me wrong I do like the book but not as much as I thought I would. I found the film to be better than the book which doesn’t normally happen.
  55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading? – The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick. It’s the book I read when I’m not in the mood for staring something new. It’s my go to book and I read it a lot.

Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

One thought on “55 Quirky Questions for Readers

Leave a Reply

