Book Review | Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

“You don’t know what goes on in anyone’s life but your own. And when you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re not messing with just that part. Unfortunately, you can’t be that precise and selective. When you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re messing with their entire life. Everything. . . affects everything.”

★★★★★

Do you ever pick up a book and after reading the blurb you already know that this book is going to be something pretty amazing? I felt like that while reading Thirteen Reasons Why by James Asher. I couldn’t bring myself to put the book down which I love finding in a book. Okay, let’s start of by telling you what the story is about.

The story follows Clay Jensen who arrives home from school to find a box sitting by his front door. Excited that it could be a gift from someone he opens the box to find thirteen tapes only these don’t contain music. On these tapes is the voice of Hannah Baker, a girl from school, who killed herself two weeks earlier. As Jensen listens to the tapes he finds that each tape contains a reasons as to why Hannah decided to end her life. Clay’s shocked to find out that he’s on one of those tapes but in order to find out why he has to listen.

A friend of mine had read this book and it turned out to be one of her favourites and suggested I give it a read. I always love finding new things especially when it’s a book so I picked up a copy and began reading. I found myself loving the book and the characters and I found myself turning the pages desperate to know why Clay was on these tapes.

I know a few people who have read the book and have said they don’t believe Hannah’s reasons for killing herself were believable or even good enough. I don’t agree with this. Everyone has their own personal demons and everyone has their own reasons for being in a bad place. I happen to think Hannah’s reasons were suited to her. Everyone has there own way of working through issues and some people find it harder than others. On these tapes were Hannah’s reasons and although she is a fictional character I don’t think she should be judge for her reasons – no one should.

I felt the book was written fantastically and I found the book to be very realistic I dealing with such an important theme, suicide. The book wasn’t over done or over exaggerated it was a true portrayal of a teenage suicide. We find out all the reasons why she killed herself as Clay listens to these tapes which I loved. We went on the same journey Clay did and I love that type of writing. Every page leaves you wanting more, I think I could have finished this book in a day if I had had the time.

The story is intense and deals with a lot of emotions but Jay Asher deals with them perfectly. The book reminds us that our actions have a price and as you’re reading you a reminded of this constantly.I personally believe that’s something we all need to be reminded of in our life – our actions and words always have a price.

Suicide isn’t something that should be taken lightly nor is it an easy subject to talk about. I feel that Asher did a fantastic job in portraying this subject in a way that made a touching and memorable novel. This one will stay with me for a while.

Have you read the book? I’d love to hear your thoughts 🙂


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

5 thoughts on “Book Review | Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

  1. […] This book was written so beautifully and it was done in such a creative way that it’s hard to not include it amongst my favourites. Before I even started the book I knew I was going to be reading something amazing and once I started I couldn’t put the book down. What I really love about this book is that we find out everything the same time Clay does. It’s as if we’re there with Clay as it happens which is a really lovely thing to experience while reading. I have an endless list of reasons as to why this book is one of my favourites but there’s only so long I can go on before you all get bored. (You can find my review of Thirteen Reasons Why here) […]

  2. […] Woo it’s the last day of The 10 Day Bookworm Challenge, hurrah! For the last challenge I’ve to choose my dream cast in a movie/TV show for my chosen book. If it’s already a movie/TV show I’ve to say if I like the cast members or if I would change any of them. The last book I randomly selected was Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. I read this book a few week ago and I fell in love with the story and the journey into finding out what the Thirteen reasons were. I wrote a book review for it which you can find here. […]

  3. No I think it is pointless to have a story focused on a characters reasons for killing themselves not matter what the reasons where nothing is going to change the character who killed herself would still be dead by her own hand.

    • I agree that it’s not going to change anything, at the end of the day Hannah’s still dead but I don’t think it’s pointless. If anything the book shows that your actions have a price, it’s a snowball affect you can say one thing wrong and it can affect them in ways you didn’t expect it to. I personally think the book tried to show an awareness of that. The book may have been about suicide but I think it was also about how actions and words have consequences.

      Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

