Book Review | Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

“The important people in our lives leave imprints. They may stay or go in the physical realm, but they are always there in your heart, because they helped form your heart. There’s no getting over that.”

★★★★

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares is a sweet romance set around Christmas time. Lily leaves a red notebook filled with challenges on a shelf in her favourite bookstore with the hope that the right person will stumble upon it and accept her unique dares. Could Dash be the right person to take on her dares or are the only destined to trade dreams and dares through a notebook left at different locations around New York?

Firstly, I have to say that this book was one that I was pleasantly surprised by and really enjoyed reading. Although I haven’t read anything written by Rachel Cohn it’s the second piece I’ve read by David Levithan. So far I haven’t been disappointed with anything. The man is a genius and I am looking forward to discovering some more of his fabulous stories that will no doubt entertain me.

The book follows a love story that will have you head over heals longing for a love story, and possible a notebook full of mysterious dares left by a stranger. I expected the book to be nothing more than a simple sweet romance novel that would be a quick yet enjoyable read. I had heard a lot of good things about this book so of course I was excited about picking up a copy and finding out how good it was. The book is exactly what it says it is. Now I’m not saying that that’s a bad thing because sometimes what you desire most from a book is one that says exactly what it means. A book with a simple fun plot that keeps you entertained for hours and Dash & Lily’s book of Dares does not disappoint.

Personally, I loved that Cohn and Levithan wrote this book together each taking the role of the character and thus writing their own chapters. I especially liked that they never discussed their ideas for this book which takes on the role of that red notebook. I enjoyed the book a lot as it’s quirky and different from what I’ve previously read which is refreshing. I loved following along with the dares they set each other and I was constantly wondering where they’d end up next. I think the idea behind this book worked perfectly showing just how great Levithan and Cohn are. Who doesn’t love the idea of walking into a bookstore and stumbling across a notebook daring you to do something you’ve never done before?

I have one fault with the book but it’s not really about the book but rather my timing. The book is set at Christmas and I feel I would have enjoyed the book more than I had if I had read the book in December rather than September. Imagine being wrapped in a blanket sitting by the window, watching the snow fall, with a hot chocolate and this book in hand. That seems like the perfect combination and I will be adding this to the December reading list purely so I can enjoy the Christmas time feeling of the book when it is actually Christmas.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

3 thoughts on “Book Review | Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Leave a Reply

