Book Review | Love, Rosie (Where Rainbows End) By Cecelia Ahern

“You deserve someone who loves you with every single beat of his heart, someone who thinks about you constantly, someone who spends every minute of every day just wondering what you’re doing, where you are, who you’re with, and if you’re OK. You need someone who can help you reach your dreams and protect you from your fears. You need someone who will treat you with respect, love every part of you, especially your flaws. You should be with someone who could make you happy, really happy, dancing on air happy.”

★★★★★

I’ve been bursting with excitement about this specific review. It’s one I was so tempted to post earlier but knew I should stick to my plan and post it today. If you’re looking for a sweet, funny, romantic, frustratingly good and addictive book that’s a quick read then this just might be what you’ve been looking for. I fell in love with this book from the very first page right up until the very end. After the first few chapters I already knew this was my new favourite book and I knew it was one I was going to read again and again.

Love, Rosie follows the characters Rosie Dunne and Alex Stewart through the ups and downs of life. They’re childhood friends who are meant to be together only everyone else knows this except them. They keep growing closer until one day Alex learns that his family are leaving Dublin and moving over to Boston. Devastated that they’ll be separated by the ocean Rosie applies for college in Boston so she can be closer to Alex only life gets in the way and everything changes.  With her dreams for college now abandoned and Alex now studying medicine in America Rosie stays in Dublin and works out her life from the place she’s always known as home. Throughout the ups and downs Rosie and Alex keep in contact through letters and emails filling each other in on life’s little adventures.

I loved this book so much more than P.S. I Love You which was the first book I read by Ahern. This book is funny, tragic, beautiful and I fell in love with every single character in it, well maybe not what’s-his-name. The book is so beautifully written that it pulls at your heart stings. I found myself shouting at the book when things weren’t quite working out how I had hoped they would. I desperately wanted to knock their heads together and make them see sense.

One of the things I loved most about this book was that it was written in letters. It’s not commonly done in books and I think it’s a very clever way of writing. I loved that it was written throughout the years and didn’t just focus on a specific part in Rosie and Alex’s life. The process of going through all those years made the ending so much sweeter. I personally felt that the letters and emails gave a better understanding of their friendship, it was easy to see the comical side but it was also easy to see the tragic side of each of their lives. The book isn’t just written letters and emails between Alex and Rosie but Rosie and her parents and Rosie and her sister and Alex and his brother which I really liked. It brought forward this sense of closeness and a realness. Family and friends don’t always live in the same town or on the same street but they still keep in contact and Ahern pulled this off perfectly. To date, I think this is my favourite book of hers. I still have a few to read but I am certain that they’ll be as equally good and enjoyable.

Love, Rosie has been made into a film starring Sam Claflin and Lily Collins which will be released later this month. I’m very excited about this and from what I’ve seen from trailers and TV spots the film looks like it’s going to be just as good as the book. I have noticed a few little tweaks and changes but I think they’ll be good. I’ve left the trailer below for anyone who wants a look.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

