Book Review | Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

“What you must remember is that love, as powerful as it may be, is never simple or straightforward.”

★★★★★

Billy and Me is a novel written by Giovanna Fletcher and is one that has been on my to-read list from the moment it was announced.

The Story follows Sophie May, a young girl living in a small town. Working in the local tea and cake shop where she meets actor Billy Buskin. Soon they fall in love and Sophie is whisked away into the glamour of Billy’s world.

The book is basically everyone’s dream. At some point in our life we’ve all imagined bumping into our favourite actor, instantly falling head over heels in love and having them take us over to the glamour and fame side of life. I think it’s what I loved so much about the book.

Although I have read several bad reviews I found the book to be sweet, funny and charmingly entertaining. I couldn’t wait to read what happened next in Sophie and Billy’s world because it was never dull. Giovanna has a talent for developing loveable characters and I found myself loving everyone, well maybe not everyone.

Most importantly I really liked how the book showed the celebrity lifestyle. It wasn’t just glamour and parties. Giovanna wrote about the not so nice parts that come with the job and I really liked that. More often than not the celebrity lifestyle is shown to be all sparkles and glamour but in reality it’s not always that way. I like that the book dealt with both sides, even if some of it was heartbreakingly painful.

I found myself routing for Sophie hoping that she’d get her happily ever after. The ending of the book was perfect. Oh my god that ending was so good! I was left sitting on the edge of my seat shouting and hoping for the best.

If you’re looking for something romantic, dripping in sweetness with just a dash of hilarity then this is a must read. I think it’d be a great read whether your off on holiday or simply snuggling up with a blanket this winter.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

  1. […] I am a huge fan of Giovanna’s and I adore her writing style and her wonderfully charming and loveable characters. This book is on my favourite lists not only because Giovanna is one of my favourite authors but because the books is written so beautifully and truthfully. I think we’ve all, at some point, imagined what it would be like to fall in love and whisked off our feet by a beautiful movie star. In this novel we see the more challenging side to being in the spotlight and what it’s like to see your whole world change before you. (You can find my review of Billy and Me here) […]

Leave a Reply

