Book Review | The 100 by Kass Morgan

“Everyone was pointing upward at the sky, which was turning into a symphony of colour. First, orange streaks appeared in the blue, like an oboe joining a flute, turning a solo into a duet. That harmony built into a crescendo of colours as yellow and then pink added their voices to the chorus. The sky darkened, throwing the array of colours into even sharper relief. The word sunset couldn’t possibly contain the meaning of the beauty above them, and for the millionth time since they’d landed, Wells found that the words they’d been taught to describe Earth paled in comparison of the real thing.”

★★★★★

I received a copy of The 100 by Kass Morgan in exchange for an honest review. The 100 is the first book in Kass Morgan’s series. I had watched the first episode of the TV series before I even knew it was a book. From the start I was intrigued as to what was going to happen. I knew the basics, after humans left the earth due to radiation they ended up living in a colony in space. However, that colony wasn’t going to be able to sustain human life for much longer so going back to earth seemed like their only choice. However, why endanger thousands of people’s lives when you don’t know if earth is safe to live on yet. Instead they send down 100 criminals to check if the world they once called home is safe.

I need to point one thing out though. If you’ve watched the TV show and like many have fallen in love with the character and think the book would be just as good you might be in for a surprise. Yes the TV show is fantastic, just like the book, but the first episode of the TV show is the first book. Be opened minded when reading.

The plot of the book caught my attention the most. It was interesting and I wanted to find out more so I opened the book and started reading and oh boy was I surprised at how much I ended up loving the book. I think they’re the best kind of books, when you don’t expect it to be as good as you think and you get blown away. Firstly, I loved that this book was told in so many different perspectives. I was nice hearing everyone else’s thoughts through their character rather than through another character, does that make sense? The different perspectives, I felt, gave the story more meaning. I particularly loved Glass’ point of view from the ship. I feel that if the book had only been written in the view of those 100 on earth I would have gotten bored very quickly.

Although the chapters on earth were interesting and I did enjoy them I found the chapters about Glass and Luke more enjoyable. I was fascinated by how the world up their worked so these chapters that explained everything from someone who lived up there were really nice. Also, Glass and Luke are really cute. I also really liked the flashbacks that told us about how these 100 people ended up being deemed as criminals. Clarke has her own story and it’s one I ended up sympathizing with. I didn’t agree with why she was locked up in their first place but I liked that we knew she had been arrested first and then found out why later. Those flashbacks to life before they were arrested and sent to earth were also really interesting to read.

Since this book ended in an OH MY GOD WHAT A CLIFFHANGER kind of way I am very excited to already be starting the second one. So far I am loving it and cannot wait to finish it. They series is really good and I highly recommend it. I’ve already added it to the list of my favourite series and I already know that this second book is going to be just as enjoyable. I’m already waiting for those questions I have to start making sense.


 Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

One thought on “Book Review | The 100 by Kass Morgan

  1. […] The book still follows the group of humans who were sent down to earth from the Colony which they were living on in space after radiation destroyed earth. The group have been on earth for 21 days and as you’ll soon find out it’s not as easy going as they would like it to be. They all still have a lot of questions and I do not want to ruin this book for anyone who hasn’t read the first or who hasn’t read this one so for now I’ll leave my summary like this. If you want to read my review for the first book you can find that here. […]

Leave a Reply

