Let’s Talk About… Exam Season

Like clockwork exam season has popped back up causing mass terror and stress levels to rise amongst students across the country. We all have that sense of dread and fear. Everyone feels the same way which I guess is both a blessing and a curse. I mean it’s good knowing that you’re not the only one stressing about coursework deadlines and exams drawing closer but it’s not the best feeling in the world. It only makes you worry more and it doesn’t lead to anything productive, well not in my case anyway.

The thought hit me yesterday as I was watching television and the all too familiar feeling of dread washed over me and I won’t lie I cried a little, in my living room, alone. I realised I have so much work to do before exams start in about three weeks but I have so much to do that I couldn’t even tell you where I should start. Instead here I am creating a post about exam season, procrastination at it’s finest!

I wish I could crawl into bed with my favourite music and just stay there until it’s all over. I mean how good would that be? I could wake up just before Christmas and get into the festive season by enjoying everything and I wouldn’t have had the stress and fear over what happens if I fail an exam again? What I need now is that remote from click where I can fast forward my life just a little. It would be a wonderful Christmas present as long as it didn’t go in the same direction the movie did.

So hear I am, sitting in front of my laptop 10 weeks worth of notes scattered around me and I’m staring at it all not sure where the best place to start is. Do I start focusing on my degree subject because that’s important or do I instead start with one of my electives since I know less about that? It’s hard to prioritise which is more important and it’s the part that always gets to me. Of course I’d rather be studying psychology than commercial law but I have to do both sadly. It’s one big giant mess of confusion and I hate it.

So here’s what I’ll do because in order to leave with my degree in 2 years time I have to do the work, if I don’t I leave empty handed and that’s more stressful than studying for exams. I’ll stand up and take a deep breath and remind myself that all the work I am going to do over the next three weeks is going to pay of tremendously in my future. I’ll go downstairs and I’ll grab an Oreo or 2 because in times of stress and crisis and Oreo or some chocolate fixes everything. I’ll come back upstairs and I’ll take another breath reminding myself that I choose to go university and that I want this. I’ll open up my notebook and course book and I’ll start doing what I should have done on Monday and I won’t panic because panicking won’t solve anything. Maybe it’ll work and maybe it won’t but I’ll have tried and right now that’s the most important thing I can do, try!

Coursework deadlines and exams are fast approaching. So if you’re in the same boat as me and get freaked out and stressed very easily remember that it’s all worth it in the end and if that doesn’t work grab some chocolate because nothing works as good as chocolate when the stress levels rise. Happy studying!


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

Leave a Reply

