Book Review | Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

“I was told love should be unconditional. That’s the rule, everyone says so. But if love has no boundaries, no limits, no conditions, why should anyone try to do the right thing ever? If I know I am loved no matter what, where is the challenge? I am supposed to love Nick despite all his shortcomings. And Nick is supposed to love me despite my quirks. But clearly, neither of us does. It make me think that everyone is very wrong, that love should have many conditions. Love should require both partners to be their very best at all times.”

★★★★

I found Gone Girl to be both entertaining and thrilling. The story follows Amy Elliot and Nick Dunne a couple who have their own problems that are masked by what appears to be a happy marriage. However on their 5th wedding anniversary Amy goes missing leaving Nick grieving for his wife and the question on everyone’s mind, where is Amy? Every chapter and every page of this book has a twist that keeps you guessing until something else happens and kind of answers your question but leaves you wondering what is going on. Every chapter in this book will happily frustrate you as you try to untangle the mystery of what happened to Amy.

The story is split into to points: Nick’s version of events after Amy’s abduction and Amy’s diary over the past few years that unearths some mysteries surrounding their relationship. The whole book keeps you guessing and hooked as you try to figure it all out. There are a lot of question surrounding her disappearance and you try to stay one step ahead of Flynn and attempt to guess what happened but it never works. There’s always something else going to pop up on the next page that makes you question if it was actually them.

Although I will admit it took me a while to work my way through this book because my friends had told me how dull the ending was compared with the rest of the book. I didn’t want to reach the ending so I figured if I dragged it out a little it’d take the ending longer to come. Since reading the book I have to agree with my friends in saying that the ending was not my favourite. I just felt like the whole book was gripping and filled with questions and suspicion and then the ending was just, simple. Of course there is nothing wrong with simple I just personally feel like that the ending didn’t match the rest of the book which was written so beautifully.

The book is perfect. It’s chilling, it’s gripping, it’s hopelessly tragic and perfect in every way. It’s everything I wanted from this book despite the ending.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

