Book Review | You’re The One That I Want by Giovanna Fletcher

“Maddy caught my attention on the very first day I clapped eyes on her. She looked adorable with her scruffily wild bob and red cheeks. She also looked as though she was going to burst into tears at any minute. I’m not sure what she made of me and my wingman, with our chubby faces and overly keen ways – well, actually, I think she was pretty terrified. But we won her over eventually. We’re still not sure how we managed to pull that one off…”

★★★★★

You’re The One That I Want is the second novel written by the lovely Giovanna Fletcher. I picked this one up after I had fallen in love with her debut novel Billy and Me. After I fell in love with her characters and writing style in Billy and Me I had high expectations for this.

The Book follows three friends Ben, Maddy and Rob from their childhood right up to their twenties. They’ve been best friends since they were nine years old, practically inseparable, but of course sometimes boy/girl friendships can get a little complicated. Ben has been in love with Maddy for as long as he can remember. While on a school trip to Paris he decides that this will be the perfect place to tell her the truth about how he feels. However things don’t go to plan. Falling in love with your best friend can be hard enough but watching your mutual best friend fall in love with her too creates so much more complications and heartbreak.

I fell in love with Ben and his kind heart and the wonderful person he is right from the very start. Personally, he was the one I was rooting for throughout the whole book. He was the person I wanted to get a happy ending the most. He’s loyal and so kind. I could feel my heart breaking so many times for the situations he ended up in. Since I was such a fan of Ben you would have thought that I wouldn’t have liked Rob but this wasn’t the case. I loved the relationship he and Maddy had most of the time and that was all down to Giovanna creating these wonderful characters but most importantly this beautiful friendship between the three.

The book is written in both Ben and Maddy’s point of view and although I loved hearing both their thoughts on these crazy situations they ended up in I would have loved a little bit of Rob thrown in there too. I couldn’t help but wonder while reading what Rob was thinking while things were going on. There’s also a certain part in the book where I feel Rob’s point of view would have be so good. I think as a reader it would have be lovely to know if Rob every suspected Ben’s feelings.

I think we really need to talk about the ending of this book. Oh my god I did not expect this ending at all but I think that’s what I liked most about it. I was working my way through it thinking I knew exactly how this was going to end and then I was wrong – surprisingly wrong. It was great being surprised and in such a lovely way too. Now that I’ve read the book I don’t think I would have liked any other ending, certainly not even what I had imagined. Giovanna has created such a fantastic end to a brilliant book and between you and me I shed a few tears during that very sweet epilogue.

Would I recommened this book? Of course I would especially if you liked Giovanna’s first book, Billy and Me. This is such a great read that you’re going to fall in love with. Despite a slow start things pick up and it was something I couldn’t put down. Giovanna has quickly become one of my favourite authors and I am waiting very excitedly to see what she comes up with next. Read this book? Let me know your thoughts below.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

