Book Review | An Abundance of Katherine’s by John Green

“Do you ever wonder whether people would like you more or less if they could see inside you? I mean, I’ve always felt like the Katherines dump me right when they start to see what I look from the inside – well, except K-19. But I always wonder about that. If people could see me the way I see myself – if they could live in my memories – would anyone, anyone, love me?”

★★★★

I bought an Abundance of Katherine’s a few weeks ago to complete my John Green collection. It had been on my reading list for a while but I had never gotten around to reading the book. A friend of mine had read it and said that it hadn’t been her favourite of what she had read so it kind of put me off a little.

An Abundance of Katherine’s follows Colin Singleton who is dumped by a Katherine at the end of his high school journey. It’s probably important to know that she is the 19th Katherine Colin has had a relationship with and none of them have ended well. Upset while faced with rejection and the knowledge that his time as a “child prodigy” is almost at an end he decides to go away with his best friend, Hassan. The idea behind it all is so he can work on finding a mathematical formula that predicts where any of his future relationships will go and give him the title genius. The pair find themselves in Gutshot, Tennessee, where they are hired to write down the town’s history as told by the people who live there.

Despite what my friend thought I really fuggin loved this book, I was unsure to start with but once I got into it I really enjoyed it. It’s less dark than Looking for Alaska or The Fault in Our Stars but there’s still that familiar way that John deals with coming-of-age problems in the fantastic way he always does.

I did kind of guess a little how things where going to end but not in this big way I just kind of realised where things were going to go when certain characters were introduced to the story. I really enjoyed the whole take of this book because it’s fun compared with his other novels. I guess what I mean by that is that it never made me cry like his previous books have. I’m sure you all know what ones I’m talking about.

I really liked Colin’s character and at first I was kind of put off about all the maths that was in this book but there isn’t so much that it becomes daunting to read or that it puts you off. Some of it confused me yes but there is a lovely appendix at the back of the book which explains everything. I mean I thought the book was good but the appendix is fantastic. If you’ve read the book and not read that appendix then go back and read because it’s so interesting! (and this is coming from someone who hates anything that involves long mathematical equations)

Would I recommnd this book? Of course. If you’ve read anything of John’s then you’ll no doubt enjoy this it’s funny but it deals with these real things that teenagers go through and I think that’s what I love about John’s writing the most. He has this way of writing about real teenage problems in a way that is so easy to understand and in some way relate to. This book only further confirmed why the main is high up on the list of my favourite authors. If you’ve read this then let me know what you thought below.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

6 thoughts on “Book Review | An Abundance of Katherine’s by John Green

  1. (I tried to comment before but for some reason the page crashed. Second attempt:). I agree with you 🙂 While Paper Towns is always going to be my favourite John Green, I really liked that this one didn’t make me cry. And it’s probably the funniest of the lot. Keen to re-read it again now actually after reading your review. John Green is the man haha 🙂

    • Paper Towns is my favourite book of his, I was annoyed with myself for not reading it sooner. An Abundance of Katherine’s is certainly a lot funnier which is kind of nice to see the balance because I cried at TFiOS and LFA! John Green is the man, well put 🙂 Glad you liked the review 🙂

      • Yay, I’m glad to hear it! Most people say TFIOS or LFA. Which are both wonderful, too, but yeah. For sure. It’s always great when an author doesn’t write just one kind of story and has balance of funny/sad 🙂

    • I was the same with this one. Like I said my friend didn’t like it and I automatically assumed that it was because it was said. I started it a few months ago and then decided I couldn’t deal with more John Green heartbreak because it’s never okay! 🙂 Luckily I worked my way through it and was pleasantly surprised.

      It’s different from is other books but it’s a good different. I think you’ll enjoy it probably even more because you won’t be crying and wanting to throw the book across the room in anger, haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

