I Want To Share Something Exciting With You

I’m a firm believer in everything happens for a reason. I believe that if life doesn’t go in the direction you want it to go it’s because it has something better, more amazing, planned for you. I’ve always believed in that. I’m a firm believer in silver linings. I also believe that sometimes if you want something to happen you have to do it yourself. Even if that means creating a new path and building it until you meet someone along the way who can help you.

Today was a pretty important day for me and I really wanted to share it all with you. I also figured if I posted it onto the blog I’d be held accountable that I had actually said it and couldn’t backtrack my way out of it.

For those of you who have been falling me for a while you’ll probably already know that I dabble at writing. It’s something I jump in and out of on a daily basis and I always try to write a minimum of 200 words a day even if it’s crap. For the past few years, despite what people have told me, I’ve always believed the things I write are rubbish. I don’t know how to react when someone compliments something I’ve done but today I was reading through some things I found hidden in drawer. I found my bucket list I wrote when I was fifteen years old. I won’t go into detail most of the things that were written on it were so cringe worthy it’s ridiculous. Number 3 on my bucket list was write something I was proud of and send it to a publisher to see what happens. After that was number 4, publish at least one book.

I wrote this story called Darkness and it’s something I’ve been working on since I started college about two years ago. I finished it at the start of this year, well I finished the first draft. I really like the story and the characters and the plot. Being truthfully honest it’s the first thing I’ve ever written that I’ve thought was good and that’s not me being modest.

Today I made the decision to look out that copy on my computer and spend the next year working on it, really working it. Fixing it up, adding to the plot and the characters and making it something I can really be proud of. I realised I’ve babbled so I’m going to get to the point now before I bore you all. I want to finish Darkness and make it the best possible story I can. I want to send it to a publisher either at the end of 2015 or the start of 2016 and I want to see what happens.

Everyone starts somewhere. I mean my favourite authors didn’t just wake up one day with a book in a book store. Well I guess they did but you know what I’m getting at. They worked hard to have their work published and I want to do the same. So today I’m taking the first step in that direction. I’m dusting off my keyboard and I’m going back into the mindset of Eva. I guess there’s no time like the present to get started….


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

3 thoughts on “I Want To Share Something Exciting With You

Leave a Reply

