Let’s Talk About… Christmas Films

Every year on Christmas Eve I stick on the new pair of pyjama’s I’ve been given as an early Christmas treat and watch a bunch of Christmas films. This year I’m struggling to decide which Christmas film I should watch. So while I try to figure it all out I thought I’d list a few of my all time favourite Christmas film that I watch throughout the festive season!

1. Elf (2003)
I don’t think it’s Christmas unless I watch Elf and I think it’s something that everyone watches at this time of year. The film never fails to make me laugh and it always gets me excited for Santa coming. I mean come on, IT’S SANTA!

2. Home Alone (1990)
The film is older than me but I still laugh as hard as I did the first time I saw it when I was a kid. I think because it was something we watched every year from when I was like five it doesn’t make it Christmas unless we all gather around the TV and watch Kevin defend his home against those robbers.

3. The Polar Express (2004)
It does not feel like it’s been 10 years since this film was released but it seems like it has, woah. I loved this film the first time I saw it and it’s still something I love. I particularly love that hot chocolate song that’s in the film. I always end up pausing it and getting some hot chocolate when it starts playing. It’s like they knew that would happen!

4. The Holiday (2006)
It’s just a really good film but it’s one I know a lot of people have never actually seen which is crazy to me because I love the film. If you haven’t seen this film then add it to your list to watch either this year or next year. It’s a really good, funny film that I have watched so many times.

5. Die Hard (1988)
Are we really allowed to call Die Hard a Christmas film? It’s set at Christmas time so I guess it would kind of fall into the Christmas film bundle, right? I watch Die Hard every year on Christmas Eve which people think is the strangest thing ever. I love the film I mean what’s better than watching a guy fight his way through a building with hilarious one liners? I’ve seen it so many times I can pretty much quote the film – “Come out to the coast, we’ll get together, have a few laughs!”

6. While You Were Sleeping (1995)
This is probably one of my favourite films ever. It’s certainly on the list of all time favourites. Again it’s a Christmas film I watch every year without a doubt but it’s also one I watch every couple of months. It’s really funny and it’s sweet and the ending is the cutest most magical thing ever. Honestly just watch this film if you’ve never seen it you won’t be disappointed.

7. Love Actually (2003)
What’s not to love about Love Actually? I mean how hilarious would it be if Hugh Grant was actually Prime Minister? That little boy who is in love in the film, it’s so sweet. I watch it at the start of December every year because like most films you have to watch it at Christmas. It’s one that’s normally on the TV at this time of year and one I always find myself watching if it’s on.

8. Gremlins (1984)
When I was younger we used to go around to my Grans on Christmas morning to exchange presents and every year this would be on the TV. I wouldn’t let my mum and dad leave until I had seen the end of the film and it didn’t matter if I had seen it last year or the year before that. It’s a good film although I’ll admit those mean Gremlins scared me when I was younger.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Christmas Films

  1. Ahh, Love Actually is my mum’s favourite film and I watched it for the first time this evening! (I started watching it several years ago, until we got partway through and my parents decided certain aspects were unsuitable…;).) I also started watching Elf for the first time (!) about a week ago, but didn’t get to finish it 😦 I’m sure I’ll find it on TV again! Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

