Book Review | Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

“When things break it’s not the actual breaking that prevents them from getting back together again. It’s because a little piece gets lost – the two remaining ends couldn’t fit together even if they wanted to. The whole shape has changed.”

★★★★★

It seemed only fair to have Will Grayson, Will Grayson as my first review of 2015. (I realise it’s a day late but I had a busy day yesterday, sorry.) The book was amazing and I hope I do the review justice. You all know I am in love with anything written by John Green so you can probably already guess how I felt about this book. It was the last John Green book that I had to read and I am very happy to say that it did not disappoint one bit.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson follows two very different teens with the same name who have no idea the other exists until they meet in Chicago in a very unlikely place. Will Grayson #1 is someone who isn’t interested in being noticed by everyone and is the complete opposite of his fabulous best friend Tiny Cooper. Tiny Cooper, who is far from being Tiny, is in the midst of writing/directing/starring/producing in a play about his life and his long list of romances. will grayson #2 is a depressed, angry teenager who, above all, just wants to be loved. Once both Will’s meet they are forever tied together by the wonderful Tiny.

A book written by two of your favourite authors fills you with excitement. I mean what’s not to love? It was certainly a treat to read and while I worked my way through this book I kept thinking how happy I was that this book existed. I mean my favourite authors actually got together and sat and wrote this wonderfully hilarious book. I laughed from the first chapter right up until the last chapter. I even laughed during the conversation at the end between John and David.

The first thing I really loved about this book is that John and David have the same sense of humour which is clear while you’re reading. I mean the whole part at the start about not picking your friends nose I loved it. What a perfect way to open a book – “you can pick your friends, and you can pick your nose, but you can’t pick your friend’s nose.” I also liked that they wrote this book without really knowing the direction or what the other was writing. I think this is part of the reason the book works and flows so well, that and their real-life friendship.

The book was instantly added to my favourite list, I bet you didn’t expect that, so I don’t really have any complaints about this book. I really loved the characters and in particular will grayson #2. Throughout the book he is kind of more down than up and he swears a lot but that’s the point of his character and David wrote it perfectly. He really portrayed the idea of what happens after you’ve been diagnosed with depression, life still goes on. will grayson #2 has the most growth as a character throughout the book and reading the final chapter you do really see how much he has changed, in a good way of course. Will Grayson #1 sometimes irritated me and that was mainly to do what how he treated Tiny, especially with the whole character in Tiny’s play being called Gil Wrayson. I don’t have enough words to explain how much I love Tiny Cooper however if his play was something I could go and watch in real life I think I would go. I have my fingers crossed for a movie that way I can see the creations inside Tiny’s mind come to life.

Would I recommend this book? 100% yes. That’s all I’m saying. I love John Green enough for you all to know I’d recomment anything he wrote – even if it was his shopping list! If you’ve read this book let me know what you thought in the comments below.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

4 thoughts on “Book Review | Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Leave a Reply

