Book Review | Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

“What are the chances you’d ever meet someone like that? he wondered. Someone you could love forever, someone who would forever love you back? And what did you do when that person was born half a world away? The math seemed impossible.”

★★★★

I picked up this book at the end of last year after seeing everyone on Goodreads talking about it. My friends who had read it raved about the book highly. I decided to make January the month where I discover some new favourite authors so I picked up the book with high expectations excited to see what all the fuss was about.

Eleanor and Park follows 2 sixteen year olds who live in the same neighbourhood with 2 very different lives. Eleanor is the new girl in town with a big family. Park has stayed in the town his whole life and prefers to keep to himself. The two meet on the way to school where they sit down on the same seat and form a friendship over a love of comic books and music.

I really loved this book and I’m happy that it was something I picked up. I found it to be a really fantastic story. It was one that I wanted to stop doing everything else I was doing and just finish this. At times I found Park to be a little too clingy for my liking but this is something I think Rainbow done on purpose. The story was really good and I loved it. I can now happily add Rainbow Rowell to my list of favourite authors and I’m looking forward to reading more of her work as she’s an excellent writer. Welcome to the favourite shelf Rainbow!

I have a love hate relationship with the end of the book. I liked the way the book ended because I do believe what Rainbow said on the last page – “I don’t believe that 17-year-olds get happy endings. They get beginnings.” I really agree with this which I why I really loved her decision on how to end the novel. However, as part of me that loves having everything neatly wrapped up and finalised I’m dying to know what those three words were!


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

