Book Review | Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

“I don’t trust anybody. Not anybody. And the more that I care about someone, the more sure I am they’re going to get tired of me and take off.”

★★★★★

I had heard a lot about this book over on Goodreads a lot of my friends over their had been speaking highly of it, in fact a lot of people speak highly of Rainbow Rowell. My friend then read this book and sent me a text saying that I had to read it so I went out to the nearest book store and picked up a copy of the book and began reading.

Fangirl follows Cather, or Cath as she likes to be called, on her first day of freshman year at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Cath had hoped to share a room with her twin sister, Wren, but her plans for university were different. With Wren sharing a room with a girl called Courtney Cather gets a roommate called Reagan who comes with Levi. (Very dreamy and such a charmer, Levi!) As Cather works through her freshman year and all the problems and work load that comes with it she soon realises that she can’t quiet keep up with the demand of university as well as keeping up with all those chapter updates on her fanfiction account.

I really enjoyed this book I found it something that when I started I couldn’t put it down. I kind of imagine Rainbow spending hours on the internet and tumblr researching what it’s like to be a proper fangirl. I kind of related to this a lot because I’ve had books and films that I’ve become addicted to and I really think Rainbow portrayed this whole aspect of the fangirl world perfectly. I mean I didn’t relate to Cather with everything as there were some parts I thought were on the extreme side. For example submitting a piece of fanfiction as coursework at university, are you serious?

One of the characters in particular that I had a problem with was her sister, Wren. She irritated me more than I can type into this post. I felt she looked down at her sister a lot as if she were better than her and I really disliked that. It seemed like once they had disappeared to university she didn’t want to take the time to talk to her sister anymore which annoyed me because they had been so close. Although I do understand about distance because you grow up and things change between people but for sisters to drift that far apart it didn’t seem right. However, I loved the relationship Cather had with her dad. This relationship was real and it’s the kind of relationship you could expect coming from a close knit single-parent family.

There isn’t enough time to talk about my love for Levi but let me tell you this he is one of the sweetest characters I’ve ever read in a book. Part of me wanted to slip into the book and swap places with Cather. Can I get a Levi somewhere, please? If anyone knows where I can find a Levi please let me know. He’s the kind of boy everyone needs in their life whether as a friend or a boyfriend.

I stayed up late working my way through this book holding onto every word hoping for the perfect ending. Which, in my opinion, is when you know you’ve picked up a fantastic read. If you’ve read anything of Rainbow’s before then you’re certain to love this. It’s a fun, quick read and some of it is very relateable if you’ve ever found yourself obsessed with a book or film.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

7 thoughts on “Book Review | Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. […] I honestly fangirled about this book. It’s a book I can very much relate to, especially when I was younger. I have a habit of become attached to loveable fictional characters a lot. I feel like Rainbow understands what it’s like to love a fictional character and that’s what made this book so wonderful. [Full review here] […]

      • I really liked Eleanor and Park it was the book that made me love Rainbow Rowell. I read Fangirl extremly quickly (despite how long it took me to get the review out) It’s a quick read but like you said it took me a few chapters to get into it 🙂

Leave a Reply

