Book Review | Where The Road Takes Me by Jay McLean

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count, it’s the life in your years.”

★★★★

I was very lucky and got a free copy of this book from netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I was skimming through the site for ages looking for something that would be a good read and the cover jumped out at me. I don’t know why but I really do love this cover.

Where The Road Takes Me follows two teens Blake and Chloe. They meet one night while Blake is out jogging and he, being the nice guy that he is, saves Chloe from an unpleasent situation. Flash foward and they end up working together where they get to know each other a little better. It’s clear from the start that Blake really likes and cares for Chloe and you have this feeling that she likes him too but of course she doesn’t let herself feel the things she wants to for him. Though no story is straightforward they both have things going on in their life that makes everything that little more complicated but together they work through the ups and downs.

I won’t lie to you at first I had mixed feelings about the book. When I read the first couple of chapters I actually didn’t like it. I found the start to be very cliché. Boy meets girl and saves her, boy realises that he likes girl but girl won’t admit that she likes him even though she does. I’ve read that somewhere before. I don’t know what made me push through with the book but I’m glad I did because once I got into the plot of the book I found myself loving everything about it. I ended up sitting up until 3am finishing the book because although the first half, in my opinion, starts of slow it really starts to pick up.

Chloe was a character that really frustrated me at times throughout the whole book. As a character I do understand why she made some of the choices and decision going with her story but most of them annoyed me. Often she’d do something that would be really sweet and make me thing she’d grown as a character and then she’d ruin it all. I really liked Blake’s character especially how much he cared for Chloe. It wasn’t just about getting her in his eyes. I mean right from the start he saw something about her and I really liked it. No matter what she done or how far she pushed him he never left her.

I really loved the friendship between Blake and Josh and I’m willing to say it was one of my favourite things about this book. I loved the scenes between Blake, Josh and Chloe they always worked and I always got really excited when they came up. In fact as a whole the secondary characters in this book were all really good – which in my expereience rarely happens. It was very clear that there wasn’t just a lot of work put into the two main characters and I really liked that.

This was the first book I’ve read by Jay McLean and I’m very impressed. She has such a talent for writing these beautiful quotes that I really fell in love with. They helped make a certain scene stick with me and as someone who writes I really loved them. Being honest there were parts of the story that I felt dragged but that sometimes happens in every story and I have nothing agaisnt it, I still enjoyed the book. I really loved the whole idea of a road trip story. I really love a story that can take me travelling while I’m lying in bed.

Overall I thought this book was great. In fact I enjoyed the book so much I’ve convinded Cora that she needs to read this. If you like stories about road trips and teenage romances then you’ll love this book. On a little warning note when you get to the epilogue make sure you read it all because I only read the first line and panicked – you can thank me later 🙂


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Where The Road Takes Me by Jay McLean

Leave a Reply

