Book Review | Divergent by Veronica Roth

“I feel like someone breathed new air into my lungs. I am not Abnegation. I am not Dauntless. I am Divergent.”

★★★★★

This was a book I actually read a couple of years ago. My lovely neighbour stumbled across the first 2 and basically corned me into reading these. Thankfully I wasn’t dissapointed and ended up loving the books and I also go a new favourite author and series – happy days!

The book is set in a dystopian Chigcao. Society is seperated into five different factions, Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Each year sixteen year olds have to decide which faction they want to spend their lives in and if they choose the one they weren’t born in they have to leave family and friends behind. The story follows Beatrice Prior (Tris) as she deals with the choice she made. She also has a secret, one that if anyone ever found out it would be the end of her. (I don’t think I’m selling it well but I swear it’s the best!)

Have you ever picked up a book and as you’ve been reading it hits you in the face that you’re reading something pretty special? I got that feeling several times while reading Divergent. I read the book in basically four days, hahah Four! It was so addictive I couldn’t put it down. For me that’s a sign I’ve picked up a winner – the book is, in my opinion, so perfect. Veronica wrote this perfectly I can’t flaw the book but I might be bias since she’s a favourite of mine.

What I really, really, loved about this book is the whole idea behind society being seperated into different sections. I loved that these factions were basically different types of people and the more you were one of one the more likey you’d be sorted into this faction. I can’t even pinpoint characters because oh my god I became attached to them all – including Peter. Four is instantly fell in love with and once you read it you’ll understand why. (Also, Thoe James – hello!!) Tris of course you have to love I admire her selflessness and her bravery.

Would I recommend this book, damn straight! If you’re looking for something interesting that will keep you guessing and wondering what’s happening then you need to read this book. It’s pretty much got a mixture of everything – there’s drama, actions, romance, friendship and it’s a gripping read.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Divergent by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

