Book Review | Allegiant by Veronica Roth

“There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater. But sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life. That is the sort of bravery I must have now.”

★★★★★

The book basically starts off from where Insurgent ended which I again really liked. The government is a complete mess, Tris has a complicated relationship with her brother and everything they’ve always known is about to change. They’re heading off into the unknown to see what’s outside the walls and this is what made me so interested in this book.

For this Veronica Roth decided to switch things up a little. So far the first 2 books were told in Tris’ point of view but for Allegiant she added Four’s perspective which I felt was really really good. I liked being able to read his thoughts on what he thought of everything and of course how he felt for Tris. Of course we all knew he was head over heels for her but it was really nice being able to read this.

This review is shorter than most I do mainly because there is such a huge spoiler surrounding this book I don’t want to even talk about it in fear of ruining it for someone who has yet to read the book. So I’ve left some of my thoughts about you know what below. If you want to read it then go-ahead but if not I completly understand 🙂

I liked a lot of things about the book. I liked that we were introduced to the people who lived outside the walls. I loved that we got to learn about why they were sent into the walls in the first place and I loved that it was based around a kind of social experiment (my inner psychology geek freaked out at this!) I liked getting to see what things we like inside and outside of that compond. What I really didn’t like about this book was that ending.

Don’t get me wrong looking back I understand why Veronica made the decision to end the book the way she did. It didn’t make it hurt any less or stop me from crying but I grew to understand the choice. As a writer she tried something that a lot of other YA authors haven’t really tried or pulled off well. Veronica made it work and just because I didn’t like ending doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate it.

Seeing Insurgent in the cinema the other week made this point even more clear to me. I truly believe, although it hurts me to say this, that she couldn’t have ended the book any other way. She stepped out of the box and tried something new, something that worked. For that I can’t wait to see what Veronica writes next because if it’s anything like this last series we’re in for a treat!


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

3 thoughts on “Book Review | Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

