Book Review | Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

“Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place? … For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It’s a person. And we’re finally home.”

★★★★★

Anna and the French Kiss is the first book in Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and the French Kiss Series. The Story follows Anna who was looking forward to finishing her senior year with best friend Bridgette and maybe boyfriend Toph – that was until her dad decided she was going to boarding school in Paris. Miles away from her friends and family in a city where she doesn’t know the language Anna doesn’t know how she’ll survive the year – until she meets charming Etienne St. Clair. He’s everything a Anna wants a boyfriend to be only problem is he has a girlfriend and she has a maybe boyfriend.

I loved this book which I realise I do say for a lot of books that I read. I finished this book in a day and despite having a million other things to be doing I couldn’t put this book down. I wanted to find out what happened with Anna and her friends. I guess what I realised with this book is that I’m a sucker for romances in a city. The book also makes me really want to pack everything up and spontaneously go to Paris.

I think why I really loved this book is because I can relate to it. I have liked a good few people who have been dating someone I disliked. Although in this case Anna only really hates her because she’s dating Etienne but I do understand that whole feeling of wanting to be with someone you can’t be with. Looking at Meredith I relate to what she feels in this book too – I have liked people who have dated, and gone on lots of dates, with my friends. It’s does create an awkward situation and sometimes it creates a messy friendship. I do love how Stephanie portrayed all these feelings and wrote it in a way that people can relate too.

I also liked how the book had such a deeper meaning than two strangers falling in love at school in the most romantic city in the world. The book is a lot deeper than boy meets girl, boy and girl fall for each other, boy and girl fight, boy and girl get their happily ever after moment. For me I felt the book highlighted the importance of friendship especially during times when things are hard. I just love the whole way Stephanie took on these ideas and made this into a beautiful story about heartache and love.

There was one quote in particular in this book that really stood out and it was this: “Why is it that the right people never wind up together? Why are people so afraid to leave a relationship, even if they know it’s a bad one?” This quote really made me think because I know people who are in relationships and they won’t leave even though it’s not a good one. The reason is they fear of change – which is exactly what Etienne was going through. We become comfortable and when we’re comfortable in situations we don’t want to upset the balance because we’re scared of what will exist after you take comfortable away.

I need to dedicate a paragraph of this review to the sweet ending while she was in Notre Dame. Oh my god the whole scene made my heart flutter – it was just so adorable and sweet. Of course it helped a lot that the backdrop to the scene was breathtaking but it was my favourite scene of the whole book. The fact that he climbed up all those stairs despite his fears is just too perfect. If there is a guy like Etienne St. Clair going about please make yourself aware because I would very much like to meet you. If you’ve read the book let me know what you thought of it below.

Would I recommend this book? Of course I would. I you’re looking for something light-hearted and fun that’s filled with romance and sweetness and a very cute British/American boy then you have to pick up a copy of this book. I was very late to the party with this one and I am gutted that I never picked up this book sooner. It’s all kinds of fantastic and a little romance in Paris is always a bonus.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. […] I fell head over heels for this love story set in Paris. I mean a love story in Paris – how can you not fall in love with the story? I loved the relationship that developed between Anna and Etienné – their friendship was great. The end of the book made my heart flutter and I felt all the feels. It still makes me smile really goofy when I re-read the scene even today. [Full review here […]

Leave a Reply

