Let’s Talk About… The Readers Problem Tag

Today I took a little break from the revision I’ve been drowning in and done a little book tag. The Readers Problem Tag was something I stumbled upon while scrolling through Liamslibrary. If you haven’t already done so please go check out his blog I am in love with it. Since no one tagged me to do this one I’ve decided not to tag anyone myself. If you stumble across this and want to do it then consider yourself tagged!

1) You have 20,000 books on you TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I tend to pick a book based on how I’m feeling. Do I want to read a book that will make me cry or do I want a mystery or something filled with drama? It all depends on how I’m feeling the day it’s time to start something new. I also pick up a book if it’s something I’ve been waiting for to come out or it’s something my friends have highly praised.

I’ve also strated doing this new thing where I write down the names of all the books I have to currently read (which you won’t be surprised to know is a lot.) I then put all these into a bowl or a jar and pick one out at random.

2) You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

This depends on how much I really love the book. If I feel like it’s just going through a little phase and will pick up in the next few chapters then I’ll commit. Most of the time if the story is interesting then I’ll power through. There have only been a select few times where I’ve quit a book halfway through reading. Even in those cases I still push through to roughly half-way before giving up.

3) The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, yet so far away on your Goodreads Reading Challenge. Do you quit or do you commit?

I commit as long as I’m close. Although last year I had to cut my goal down by 1o books to reach it and even then it was still a stuggle. I’ll share a secret with you all – I lied on my Goodreads Challenge last year I didn’t finish all the books like I said I did. I actually started this year off by finishing 1 or 2 of those.

4) The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I always try my best to get matching covers because they always look prettier together. If I can’t get the matching covers then I guess it’s not a big deal. 9 times out of 10 I’d rather have a good story over a matching cover!

5) Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I have a group of friends who read books and we don’t always agree on the ending of the books or if we felt the book was worth 5 starts on Goodreads. The good thing about this is that we can each share our opinions and at the end of it that’s all it is. Although you do get some of those “how can you not like this book?” questions thrown at you from time to time. Sometimes it’s just better scrolling through Goodreads to find that one other person who shares you feelings – and trust me there is always one.

6) You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I have had this happened to me quite a few times. I read The Fault in Our Stars on a train and Mockingjay on a bus. One lady actually came over and asked me if everything was okay – that was embarassing. At the end of the day I love books that make me cry and if I end up crying in a public place then it happens. Although if someone gives me warning that the books sad I will save it for an inside read.

7) A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find the synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?

If it’s been a while since I read the first one then I do try and re-read it before the sequel, especially if it was a book I loved, just to re-fresh my memory. However with work and university I don’t always get the chance so sometimes I just have to search for a good synopsis or someone who is written a fab book review to refresh my memory. My recent favourite is watching people review books on Youtube!

8) You do not want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I really only have a small group of friends who read and within that group are people I trust to borrow books and return them. If anyone outside this friend group asks I just tell them I don’t like lending my books out. It’s the simplest answer – you have to be in the circle of trust to get books.

9) You’ve picked up and put down five books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?

I’ve actually had this problem since January and those of you on my blog will know I’ve been reading Outlander since then. It’s not that I don’t love the book it’s just that I’m reading a page and my mind is wondering. I got over this by picking up Anna and The French Kiss and that got me out my slump. I tend to pick up a book I know I love or go out and by some new books. A little new book therapy always helps!

10) There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Probably two or three at a time. I tend to spread them out over two months and buy them that way. On the other hand if a friend has picked up a book (and I’m in there circle of trust) I’ll borrow the book from them and it works both ways.

11) After you’re bought the new book you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until your actually read them?

Not long if it’s something I’ve been waiting ages to read. It guess it really depends on two things 1) my level of excitment and 2) how much time I have to sit down and read a book.


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… The Readers Problem Tag

  1. Thank you so much, and likewise for your blog! And are we like long-lost twins or something because we have so many bookish things in common. Especially the circle of trust, criteria must be met hahaha! Loved this!!

    • You’re more than welcome. Great minds think alike as they say! When you’re a book lover the circle of trust is just necessary 🙂 Glad you liked the post!

Leave a Reply

