Book Review | The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad at the same time, and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”

★★★★★

Charlie is a freshman in high school and isn’t exactly one of the popular kids. He’s shy, socially awkward but more importantly he’s a wallflower. All he’s trying to do is live his life and run from it at the same time. So when he becomes friends with a group of older kids from school they teach him that he can’t stand on the sidelines forever. That at some point he’s going to have to “participate” in life.

This book has been review so many times by so many different people so I’ve decided to keep my review nice and short. It stops me from blabbering on and on about how much I love this book – which I do. I mean I really love this book.

Stephen Chbosky is such a fantastic writer. He created this powerful book that has still stuck with me after two years from when I first read it. I don’t judge a book by it’s cover but I do judge a book by how long it stays with me. In my eyes this book is worth a lot more than five stars for that reason alone. The book is written so brutually honest and deep that you can’t help but feel all the feels for Charlie. I truly believe that the world would be a better place if a lot more people were as kind-hearted as Charlie was.

The book is written in letters that Charlie is sending to an unknown stranger which I really loved. For some reason I’ve always loved books that are letters written back and fourth to share a story. I think it’s something that isn’t done often but when it’s done right, in this case, it makes a pretty unique way to tell a story. I’ve thought about the stranger who recieves the letters a lot and I personally think it could be one of two people. 1) Charlie could be writing to the reader as the person he trusts to share all his feelings and troubles with. This is what I originally thought when I first read the book. 2) Charie could be writing to his past self – the person who blacked out and the person who done those things he never could.

After falling in love with the book I seems only right to end the review with a message for Charlie: Dear Charlie, thank you for sending me your letters. I am glad I was someone you trusted enough to share your thoughts with.

Would I recommend this book? Yes. It’s a book I’ve read three times now but I love it as much as I did the first time. Everytime I pick it up it makes me feel all these different emotions but it’s such an excellent written story you can’t help but want to read it again. If you’ve read the book let me know what you thought in the comments below 🙂


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

Leave a Reply

