Book Review | Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

“A blank canvass … has unlimited possibilities.”

★★★★★

Isla and the Happily Ever After is the third book in the Anna and The French Kiss series by Stephanie Perkins. Isla has spent the whole of high school crushing on Josh from afar. She’s watched him fall in love with someone else and break up. They meet in New York at a cafe and Isla blurts out Josh’s name as he walks through the door – which is completely not like her. He sits with her and they talk, she flirts – their first real conversation. This starts their very own story filled with romance, humour and heartache.

Holding my hands up high as I admit I didn’t prefer this book to Anna but it did beat Lola. What I really liked about this book was getting to see characters we had already been introduced to but in a different way than before. I really like the road she took with focusing on Josh and Isla instead of creating another couple that we didn’t know. I also liked that throughout the 3 books Stephanie focused on 3 different kinds of relationships – it changed everything up a bit and made each story interesting.

I have this insane desire to one day just pack everything up and go travelling. The fact that they done it in this book and went to Barcelona is crazy. Reading this I started wishing I had been sent away to a beautiful city for school so I could sneak off at the weekend and go to all these different places. There is still time and at least if I do it now I don’t have to add school to the mix. I loved that we got to read about Barcelona and New York – both places I really want to visit.

I feel that Stephanie has such a way of writing these very beautiful very sweet romances that just work. I didn’t think that either of the romances were impossible or unlikely to happen to me they felt real. Each book also had that feel of new-found love with tons of butterflies and magic and I felt that this was pretty clear in this book. I fell in love with Josh and Isla’s relationship and I thought it was very cute that she finally got to date the boy she had a crush on forever. How rarely that happens in real life but how beautiful to read in this book.

I’m annoyed that I didn’t read this series sooner but I have completely fallen in love with these novels. They’re very sweet, funny and filled with just enough charm. I highly suggest you go out and buy these for a very sweet and fun read. Have you read the series? Let me know which book was your favourite in the comments below. I love book chatting with you all.


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

5 thoughts on “Book Review | Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I feel you on the wanting to travel thing. I read all these recently (rereading for Anna) and now I want to see all of Europe. I was planning to go there this fall, but now it looks like I’ll be going to Asia. Eventually I’ll see the world, but still. I’m so impatient. Maybe if I end up going to grad school I’ll do it in Europe since you guys have all the free schools and such :p

    • I’ve never read a book and wanted to go to the place in the book more than I did while reading this series. She described them so beautifully. Asia will be good though an there’s always plenty of time to see the world 🙂

    • Hey, thank you I didn’t even notice! So obsessed with Anna’s story that they’ve intertwined – thanks for letting me know. Glad you enjoyed the review 🙂

Leave a Reply

