My Favourite… Stand Alone Books

As you all know I’m not posting any book reviews this month. Instead I thought I’d do something a little different. This month I’m going to talk about my favourite books and authors. This week I thought I’d start with mentioning 4 of my favourite stand alone books and why they rank high on my favourites lists.

1) Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

The book follows Sophie who lives in a small town. Sophie’s life is changed in a huge way when she falls for16112830 teen heart-throb, Billy. The quiet life she once had changes very quickly and she has to deal with being in the spotlight for the first time in her life.

I am a huge fan of Giovanna’s and I adore her writing style and her wonderfully charming and loveable characters. This book is on my favourite lists not only because Giovanna is one of my favourite authors but because the books is written so beautifully and truthfully. I think we’ve all, at some point, imagined what it would be like to fall in love and whisked off our feet by a beautiful movie star. In this novel we see the more challenging side to being in the spotlight and what it’s like to see your whole world change before you. (You can find my review of Billy and Me here)

2. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

ThirteenReasonsWhyClay Jensen comes home from school to find a box with his name on it. When he opens it up he finds out that inside are a bunch of tapes from his classmate Hannah Baker, the girl he had a crush on. The only problem is that Hannah killed herself two weeks earlier. Each tape has a different reason on why she decided to end her life – one including Clay.

This book was written so beautifully and it was done in such a creative way that it’s hard to not include it amongst my favourites. Before I even started the book I knew I was going to be reading something amazing and once I started I couldn’t put the book down. What I really love about this book is that we find out everything the same time Clay does. It’s as if we’re there with Clay as it happens which is a really lovely thing to experience while reading. I have an endless list of reasons as to why this book is one of my favourites but there’s only so long I can go on before you all get bored. (You can find my review of Thirteen Reasons Why here)

3. Paper Towns by John Green

Q has had a crush on Margo Roth Spiegelman for as long as he can remember but they haven’t really shared a 51hgkNew+XL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_conversation. Not until Margo sneaks into his bedroom one hight explaining that she has an all-night revenge plan and she needs a sidekick. The next day Q hopes things between him and Margo will be different only to find out that she’s disappear. He starts finding clues she left behind and believes she left them for him to go and find her. And so the adventure begins…

I love books about road trips and I also love John Green. Combine both my loves together in one book and you have an ultimate favourite. One of my absolute favourite things about this book is the “Paper Towns” idea behind it. Before I read this book I had no idea what a paper town was and now all I want to do is grab a bunch of my friends and go find one. I love the message behind the book that you think you know everything about a person but truthfully you don’t. The book is filled with adventure, love, laughter, friendship and fun – it’s hard not to love. (You can find my review of Paper Towns here)

4) The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

9780374532284_p0_v1_s260x420The book follows Pat who has just be released from a mental health facility. He believes in Silver Linings and all he wants is to get his wife back. The only problem is that no one will talk to him about Nikki and they all think it’s best if he moves on. When Tiffany walks into his life he finds out that she too is battling her own problems and together they form an unlikely but unique friendship.

One of the things I loved most about this book is how heartbreaking and truthfully honest it is. Mental illness is such a deep and serious topic to take on but Matthew writes about it in such a wonderful way by adding humour throughout the book. I also loved how throughout the book Pat had a plan and more than anything he wanted this plan to happen but it didn’t. It only, for me, emphasised how things don’t always go how we plan in real life. Sometimes it’s just better to let everything work of for itself. (You can find my review of The Silver Linings Playbook here)

Let me know in the comments below what some of your favourite books are. If I’ve mentioned any of the books you love above then please let me know. I’d love to have a chat about these books. Don’t agree with my stand alone favourites? Let me know, I’d love to hear why you disagree. 🙂


 Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

6 thoughts on “My Favourite… Stand Alone Books

  1. I loved Paper Towns as well! I really want to read Thirteen Reasons why. Standalone books are great, but I always tend to feel a sense of in satisfaction because I’m such a big fan of trilogies and series.
    Great post! xoxo

    • Thirteen Reasons why is a great book you’ll love it. I know what you mean I like knowing what happens after the end of a book and that’s something that you don’t usually get with a stand-alone. I think it’s why I love Cassandra Clare’s whole Shadowhunter series because in a way the books are all contected following the same story 🙂

Leave a Reply

