Let’s Talk About… The Book Ban is Over and Bake Off is Back!

0It’s already August which is both scary and exciting. It doesn’t seem that long ago that I was stressing about exams now I’m waiting to pick my electives for thrid year – Em, what?!?!?! Now that’s it’s August it means I can buy new books again – how exciting! My 31 day book ban has ended and I am very proud that I’ve managed to last so long without buying a book. I even walked into the bookshop and left with nothing. They should give out awards for displaying such strength. I’m happy dancing around my room because I can buy new books!!

Today to celebrate I headed out to the bookstore to treat not only myself but also myshelf. Today I picked up a couple of books that had been on my to-read list for a while. I got myself a copy of Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places and Ceceila Ahren’s 100 Names. Both books I am look forward to reading. The day was made even better as my mum treated my brother and I for lunch after we both passed our exams this year. ย A pizza buffet for lunch is the best way to celebrate after passing exams!

Today also meant that The Great British Bake Off is back!! I’ve been looking forward to this for a while. The only problem watching it is that I always wish I could sit and eat all the cake – well almost all of the cake.


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

12 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… The Book Ban is Over and Bake Off is Back!

  1. You have more self control than I do. Maybe I should’ve started it month wise too. I have bought cheap e-books during the summer. I can’t wait till I can splurge and buy full price books. I may buy all of Ahern’s books at once! I hope you love 100 Names. I’ll be turning green with envy as you read it!

    • It took a lot of self control not to buy any books. So glad I done it though ๐Ÿ™‚ I love her writing she’s so talented. The last book of hers I read was Love, Rosie – have you read it? I loved the style of the story. The idea of it being told through letters and emails was great. I also have How To Fall in Love to read as well hoping to get them read this month ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I’m on a major Ahern kick this summer. Love Rosie wasn’t my favorite, but I really liked it. My top 3 so far are: PS I Love You, If You Could See Me Now, and The Book of Tomorrow. Sadly I only one 3 of her books and I NEED them all. She has officially become my favorite so far.

      • She is such a talented author I am in love with her. I didn’t like that it took so long for her and Alex to get together – I preffered the movie ending to the one in the book. I loved PS I Love You and I have If You Could See Me Now to read – it’s actually been sitting on my shelf for a while. How did you like The Book of Tomorrow? I saw it today and was thinking of picking it up but decided to get 100 Names instead ๐Ÿ™‚

      • The main character is a bit annoying in the beginning, but she grows. It gets better and the nuns make the read worth it alone! You should read If You Could See Me Now with tissues for feels!

      • I need a hard copy and e-copy of both so I can note my favorite parts. The audiobooks were really good too especially If You Could See Me Now because it has 2 =)

      • I think I’m going to need collect all of her books for my own collection ๐Ÿ™‚ I love sticking post it notes in my books to write notes. I don’t like writing in books ๐Ÿ™‚

      • That’s why I love my nook because even in university I haven’t gotten use to writing in books! I still need to figure out how to high light better in my nook, but I want to start tabbing my paper books. I kinda am tempted to leave a sticky note in a library book for someone to find. =)

      • It feels odd to write in a book I don’t like it at all. I guess that’s where an e-reader would come in handy. That’s actually a good idea – things you loved about the book, pre-warnings that tissues are needed ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

