Book Review | Where She Went by Gayle Forman

“A day might be just twenty-four hours but sometimes getting through just one seems as impossible as scaling Everest.”

n354197_zps528c19a3★★★★★

Amazon UK: Where She Went
Amazon US: Where She Went


Where She Went is the sequel to Gayle Forman’s If I Stay. The book is set 3 years after the car accident that changed Mia’s life completley. Adam made a promise to Mia that night in the hospital and promise he said he’d keep. 3 years later he’s left wondering why Mia walked out of his life and never looked back and why she never gave him an explanation. In the last 3 years a lot has changed: Mia is now at universiy in New York playing her cello for the crowds & Adam and his band are now world famous and about to embark on a world tour. One night with a chance encounter Adam and Mia are reunited for the first time in years. As both have plans to leave New York they decide to spend one night together exploring the city. This leads to Adam telling Mia the things he wish he had and Mia revealling the answers he’s always wanted.

When I finish a book I like imagining what happens to the characters after I’ve read the last sentence of the last chapter. I like to imagine a happy future for the characters – never one filled with sadness and heartbreak. I loved that this book gave me what I would normally imagine for myself. This was another book I got to read that involved characters I adored. I was especially excited to read this because Mia and Adam’s relationship is something I fell head over heels for. I loved that they were in love.

I’m so excited to read this book that I open it up on the bus ride home. The only problem is that the ending I had imagined for Adam and Mia after If I Stay wasn’t the same one that Gayle envisioned for them in Where She Went. I was really upset that it was three years later and they weren’t together. They weren’t keeping those promises about being there for each other after everything that happened. Despite my little disappointment at the start I did really enjoy this book. I loved that she told this one in Adam’s point of view rather than Mia’s. It was nice to be able to read about how he was feeling after Mia basically done what he promised her she could if she stayed. As heartbreaking as it was to read it was lovely.

The further I read on I realised that my initial disappointment was shortlived. Gayle ended the book the only way she could have and I liked that. This wasn’t and ending where all their problems and fears were quickly resolved and they ran off together and lived happily ever after. This was an ending where there were still problems, small problems, but they made it work. My originally imagined ending suddenly became possible again and I have no doubt that things did work out for these two. I have this theory that if we’re meant to be with someone or have someone in our lives then everything will work itself out. I liked that this happened in the story. Mia and Adam were perfect for each other and despite all these different bumps and hiccups along the way things worked itself out. It’s a nice thought to have.

It’s no secret that I love Adam and Mia but another character I adored from If I Stay was Kim. Although I know this story was about Adam and Mia it would have been nice to have a visit from Kim. I loved her character and her friendship with Mia and the friendship that grew with Adam. There was a small part that included Kim and what she was doing and I did like that. It was nice to see that Kim had become just as succesful as these two doing something she loved.

My premature disappointment of this book was short-lived. Once I got over my sadness that they weren’t together I did really enjoy the book. Like If I Stay it has those heartbreaking moments written throughout. Unlike If I Stay I wasn’t reduced to tears which was nice. If you’ve read the first or a fan of Gayle Forman I highly recommend this book to you. It’s has her familur writing style that everyone loves. Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments below.


 Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

One thought on “Book Review | Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

