Bloguest 2015 | My Favorite Childhood Reads | Bella from Ciao Bella

Hello!

I’m Bella, and I blog about books, baking, art, and musicals on my site, Ciao Bella. I’m couldn’t be more excited to contribute to Bloguest this month – few things make me as happy as I am chatting with fellow bookworms! I’m convinced I was born with a book in hand, so the topic of my three favorite childhood reads seemed like a natural fit for my guest post.

The task of choosing those three novels, however, proved to be challenging; how could I choose such a small number of good books from the hundreds I read throughout my childhood? To make the process go smoother, I focused solely on three middle grade novels I read and adored as a kid. Furthermore, I’m a firm believer that children’s books can be enjoyed by any age, so regardless of if you’re still in elementary school or have already graduated college, I encourage you to grab a copy of each. What were some of your favorite books as a child?

0The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

Though I exaggerate when I say I am The Penderwicks’s biggest fan, my love for Birdsall’s on-going series comes close. Reminiscent of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women, this modern classic follows the four Penderwicks sisters and their new friend Jeffrey on various summer adventures. The close-knit family will capture your heart from the first chapter, and Birdsall’s charming style of writing makes this a hit among adults and children alike {it’s no wonder that it picked up the National Book Award in 2005}. Do yourself a favor and check out all four books in advance – you’ll want to spend as much time with the Penderwicks as you can!

1The Mother-Daughter Book Club by Heather Vogel Frederick

I clearly liked my realistic fiction novels as, and I still consider contemporary one of my favorite genres! Heather Vogel Frederick’s The Mother Daughter Book Club wasn’t my first middle grade read, but it remains one of my most beloved works of realistic fiction. As the title suggests, a book club is formed between four unlikely acquaintances, much less friends: Emma, a self-proclaimed bookworm, Jess, a sweet animal lover, Megan, a budding fashionista, and Cassidy, a hockey fanatic, as well as their mothers; you can just imagine the disasters that follow.

Like The Penderwicks, Frederick’s novel has the touch of simplicity and charm that can only be found in children’s books, and, yet again, this is another series where you’ll want to buy all six of the installments at once. I myself plan to revisit them soon!

2Gilda Joyce: Physic Investigator by Jennifer Allison

I can vividly remember the day I first read Gilda Joyce, which I think serves as the perfect indication of how good of a book – and series! – it is. My adoration of middle grade mysteries began when I came across Jennifer Allison’s quirky detective on the library shelves. Gilda’s first case? What to do with the haunted soul in her relatives’ San Francisco home. Gilda’s disguise are just as entertaining as her sense of humor, and Allison crafts a number of memorable characters that aid {or hinder} Gilda’s investigation. It has been years since another book in the series was released, but one can dream that the sixth novel will soon come out, right?!

Honorable Mentions, since picking only three was just too hard.

  1. Regarding the Fountain by Kate Klise
  2. From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
  3. Cornelia and the Audacious Escaades of the Somerset Sisters by Lesley M.M. Blume
  4. The Mystery of the Third Lucretia by Susan Runholt
  5. The Secret Order of the Gumm Street Girls by Elise Primavera
  6. Welcome to Camden Falls by Ann M. Martin
  7. The Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex
  8. Inside the Shadow City by Kirsten Miller
  9. 11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass
  10. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

Thank you to Kayleigh for letting me share my favorite middle grade reads! I hope you’ll stop by at the following links and say hello – I love to chat.

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Bloguest 2015 | My Favorite Childhood Reads | Bella from Ciao Bella

  1. I loved The Mysterious Benedict Society! I don’t think I’ve read the others, though since I read in Dutch as a child I might not recognise the titles (sometimes they change drastically in translation!)

    • The Mysterious Benedict Society is a wonderful series. I’m glad to hear that you are a fan as well! And that’s an understandable situation – I hope you get the chance to read a few of the books now 🙂

Leave a Reply

