Bloguest 2015 | Favourite and Overrated Book Couples | Michelle from The Writing Hufflepuff

Hi everyone! I’m Michelle from The Writing Hufflepuff and today I’m here to talk to you about my two favourite book couples and the two couples I think are overrated. Of course I have a lot of ships (what fangirl doesn’t?) so how do I choose?

Well, technically I’m not. I’m going to talk about two of my favourite book couples (still includes some choosing), but I’m not saying that these are my two ultimate favourites, because that’s just too hard! There are so many couples I ship, all for different reasons! Beware of spoilers.

Two of my favourite book couples (don’t ask me which one I ship more, because I do not know. Though I’ve shipped one longer than the other, so if I were forced to choose, it’d be that one)

Percabeth

0

Otherwise known as Perseus Jackson and Annabeth Chase from Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the Heroes of Olympus. These two cuties met when they were 12 years old, already crushing on each other. For five books they drove us readers insane, because KISS ALREADY. They are best friends, who know the other through and through, who trust each other with their lives, who’d give up anything to be with the other. When Percy had amnesia the only person he remembered was Annabeth, and he knew he loved her. When Percy was missing Annabeth who’s usually the voice of reason was in a frenzy. They fell into Tartarus together for crying out loudAphrodite ships them. The goddess of love knows her ships guys. She won’t be rooting for one that’s about to sink. They literally went to hell and back to be together, and it only made them stronger.

Romione

1

Okay, so I wasn’t sure if I should go with Romione. Not because I don’t ship them (one of my first OTPs guys, before I even knew what that meant), but I always go with Romione and there are so many other wonderful ships to choose from, I felt that I should pick another couple. But in the end I couldn’t. I can never not pick Romione, because look at this gif:

2

THEY’RE ADORABLE. They balance each other out. Hermione can be seen as serious, while Ron is seen as funny and goofy, thus balance. Of course they fight, but what couple doesn’t? They truly love each other for who they are. They’ve seen each other at their worst, know each other’s flaws, and accept them.

3

You may see a trend here: friends turned lovers, but those are my favourite kind of ships! As friends there’s no pressure of wanting to impress the other, so you truly get to know each other. And then they fall in love and live happily ever after (I hope. UNCLE RICK YOU BETTER NOT RUIN PERCABETH IN MAGNUS CHASE. I’D RATHER HAVE THEM NOT APPEAR AT ALL THEN).

Two book couples I think are overrated

Heads up: a lot of couples can be seen as overrated. These ships are popular ships that either I don’t ship or do ship, just not as much as other couples.

Hazel and Gus

4

Before you attack me, let me explain. I do ship them. I definitely don’t hate them, but I just feel they’re overrated. I don’t ship them as hard as other ships, I don’t consider them one of my OTPs. I sometimes wonder if people think their love is so beautiful, because it’s tragic.
Again, don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate this ship, I personally ship other couples a lot more.

Bella and Edward

5

First of: this is my personal opinion. don’t ship them. I used to when I first read the books, sort of. I shipped it because the other option was Bella and Jacob and Jacob annoyed me more than Edward. If you ship this, please don’t feel offended. I’m not trying to disrespect anyone who ships this, or fans of the books. Also, keep in mind that it’s been like six years since I read the books, so I might remember something wrong. Also there weren’t that many haters as there were now, so I started the series knowing my then best friend loved them, not that there were so many people who think this is a horrible series.

I don’t ship this. Why did they even fall for each other? Because Edward’s pretty? Because Bella smells good and he can’t read her thoughts?
Then there’s the whole ‘I was watching you sleep’ thing. THAT IS CREEPY. Guys, if someone sneaks into your room in the middle of the night to ‘watch you sleep’ warn the cops. Secure your house better. DO NOT START A ROMANTIC RELATIONSHIP WITH THEM. In my opinion their relationship is not healthy, for multiple reasons that I won’t share here, because I can go on for a long, long rant. I just don’t think anyone should strive to be in a relationship like this.

So these are my favourite and overrated book couples! What are your favourite ships? Which couples do you think are overrated? 


Personal blog | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin | Pinterest | Tumblr

One thought on “Bloguest 2015 | Favourite and Overrated Book Couples | Michelle from The Writing Hufflepuff

Leave a Reply

