Book Review |The Heir by Kiera Cass

“There are some things you don’t learn about yourself until you let someone else into the most intimate places of your heart.”

★★★

22918050Book: The Heir (The Selection #4)
Author: Kiera Cass
Publication Date: May 5th 2015
Amazon UK: The Heir (The Selection #4)
Amazon US: The Heir (The Selection #4)

The Heir is the fourth book in Kiera Cass’ The Selection series. The book is set twenty years after the end of America’s journey in The Selection process and follows Princess Eadlyn. America and Maxon come to Eadlyn and suggest that it’s not time for her to hold her very own Selection. Eadlyn doesn’t expect her Selection to be anything like the fairy-tale love story that her parents had. However as the competition begins, she starts to realise that her own happily ever after isn’t so impossible after all.

Thanks to Netgalley I got to read a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. First of all I feel I should mention that I loved The Selection series. I loved reading about America and Maxon and the selection journey. When I heard that there was going to be a fourth book in the series I got very excited. I was slightly disappointed when I found out that it was going to follow America and Maxon’s daughter and not them. I would have loved a book focused on America and Maxon as a newly married couple starting to make those important decisions to change the country together.

I wanted to like this book. I really wanted to like this book, I wanted to love it. I wish I loved this book as much as I loved the first three but unfortunately I don’t. My problem with this book is that I really wanted to like Eadlyn but I couldn’t like her. I’m not sure if this was something that was done on purpose for her character or if it was unintentionally. To me Eadlyn came across as a little spoiled.

I think it’s important to realise that Eadlyn is not America at all. This is something I did like in this book. It would have been boring reading a book in another point of view that was exactly like America would have been boring. America was never quite sure about what she wanted and was always going back and forth about which decision was the right one to make. The difference with Eadlyn was that she knew exactly what she wanted and she knew how she was going to get it. I really liked this aspect of her character. I love that she was strong and wasn’t going to give up on anything easily.

Although I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I wanted to I didn’t hate the book. The ending has me wanting to know what happens next and for that reason alone I will probably pick up the next book. Have you read The Heir? If you have let me know what you liked or didn’t like about the book in the comments section below.


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

Leave a Reply

