Let’s Talk About… The Edinburgh Book Festival 2015 | David Levithan

Have you ever loved an author so much that you didn’t think it was possible to love them or their books anymore than you already did? That’s exactly what I thought before I sat in a room with a group of people and David Levithan on Saturday. The first book of his that I ever read was Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares which he co-wrote with Rachel Cohn. From the moment I read the book I knew I needed to read more of his work. I picked up Will Grayson, Will Grayson and instantly fell in love with his writing style and his characters. He quickly became one of my many favourite authors and it was for this reason alone that I knew I had to see him when Cora told me he was going to the book festival this year.

David appeared at the festival to talk about his latest book Another day which is a sequel to Every day. (The review to Every day will be popping up somewhere in the next few weeks). Another day is similar to Every day but as Every day was told from A’s perspective Another Day is told from Rhiannon’s perspective. When I heard that there would be a sequel to Every day I had a look on the internet to see what everyone thought of this. My first impression was that people were worried because Every day had seemed like a stand-alone book that needed no added on material. Of course I fully understand where this worry comes from because when you love a stand-alone book or even a series you don’t want to keep reading add-on material and then lose the love you originally had for that book. David spoke on Saturday about how he had never intended to make a sequel to Every day. Another day actually came about in a very different way which I loved hearing about. He was asked to write some bonus material for a new edition of Every day that was going to be released. He decided that he would write something from Rhiannon’s point of view but when he started he realised that this wasn’t just bonus material but actually another book.

He also spoke about several of his other books including the ones he has written with Rachel Cohn. One that he talked about that has been on my reading list for a while is Nick and Norah’s infinitive playlist. I’ve seen the film and I really liked it and when I found out it was actually a book it made me interested in reading it. What I found interesting when he was talking about this book was that he said that he and Rachel never really discussed properly what would happen. They just took a chapter each and followed on from what direction the other had taken. I loved that idea and as someone who writes occasionally it kind of makes me want to find someone and try it out and see what happens. David also talked about his wonderful book that he co-wrote with a small little author known as John Green. He did joke about his last name trying out different colours before settling that his last name was for sure a colour. I also managed to get myself a signed copy of Another Day which is pretty exciting. It’s the first signed copy of a book that I have by any author so I will be guarding that book with my life.

The whole day on Saturday was really great and I think what made it even better was that it was spent in such amazing company with both Bethany and Cora. We went for lunch before we headed into the festival and we realised that picking somewhere to eat is actually really hard. I thought between the 3 of us someone would make the decision but turns out we’re all just as indecisive as the other. We settled on a burger place but only because the made milkshakes. I can’t think of a better reason to go eat somewhere but those milkshakes were actually amazing. I got a strawberry one and it was the best milkshake I’ve ever tasted. I’ll certainly be heading back sometime soon even if it’s just for one of their milkshakes.


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… The Edinburgh Book Festival 2015 | David Levithan

  1. Sounds like you had an amazing time! 😀 Yay for signed books! Guard it well haha. Also milkshakes!! The best milkshake I ever had (so far at least) was at ‘Ed’s Milkshakes’ I think it was called? I think it was at Selfridges. It was SO good *drools*

Leave a Reply

