Book Review | Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

“In the beginning there was nothing. And then there was everything.” 

★★★★★


downloadBook:
Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Publication Date: September 1st, 2015
Amazon UK: Everything, Everything
Amazon US: Everything, Everything

First of all I’d like to thank Netgalley for the advance copy of this book. As soon as I read a few bloggers review of this book and all the positive feedback surrounding it I knew I had to get myself a copy.

Everything, Everything is the debut novel by Nicola Yoon. The story follows Maddy, an 18 year old allergic to the world. Her whole life she’s been kept inside only having contact with her mother and her nurse Carla. When Olly moves in next door Maddy starts watching him and his family. Soon the two start talking and become friends. Not long after Maddy realises that she’s going to fall for him and that it’ll be a disaster.

I really loved this book. It’s not very often I find a book I love within the first couple of chapters but this was one of them. What I think drew me to this book the most was that the book is about a girl who is allergic to everything. As a result she’s been kept locked inside her house her whole life to keep her safe. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must be like to be allergic to the whole world. I have never read a book surrounding this topic before so I found it really refreshing. I knew when finished the book that I had to add Nicola to my favourites list. You can’t read a book as wonderful as this and not want to read more from the author.

I kept thinking of Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell while reading this book. I think if you were a fan of any of her books then you’d be more likely to enjoy this. However, I will be telling everyone and anyone who will listen about this book because it really is all kinds of fantastic and wonderful all rolled up into one. The book has everything you’d want a book to have and I think that’s why this one works so perfectly. There’s family, love, friendship, a very cute boy and a loveable protagonist – what more could you ask for? The book focuses a lot on what it means to be living which I really liked. Just because Maddy’s life is lived inside it didn’t mean she lives any less than someone who could walk outside without a care in the world. However, the book also shows that sometimes living is about taking risks which I really liked. Sometimes you just have to do something crazy without really thinking it through to really appreciate the moment.

One of the things I really loved about this book was the way it was written. The book isn’t written the way I expected it to be which was a pleasant surprise. The book has a mixture of diary entries, notes, drawings and emails that all add a little something extra to the story. I really liked this because it helped tell Maddy’s story in such a unique way. I also liked that it was Nicola’s husband, David Yoon, who illustrated the drawings throughout the novel which were beautiful.

Throughout the whole book I couldn’t help but cheer Maddy on, even when she was breaking the rules. I wanted her to get everything she wished for. I wanted everything to work out in the best possible way for her, I wanted her to have the best possible life she could. Something I really love about books is being surprised. I hate finding out spoilers and I hate when I can guess the direction a book is going in. This novel is filled with a lot of sweet moments mixed with a few twists – twists that I never expected. I really liked the twists that were written into the book because they truly were a shock when they happened.

I cannot recommend this book enough. Nicola Yoon has such a lovely writing style that I find similar to Rainbow Rowell’s. I think if you are a fan of Rowell’s then you should check out this book, I don’t think you’d be disappointed. If you do read this let me know what you think about it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

10 thoughts on “Book Review | Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. […] I loved pretty much everything about this book, the character, the story and of course those lovely illustrations throughout.I loved that the book was about someone who was alergic to everything – I’ve not read anything like it before and it was refreshing. There’s also a twist at the end that made my jaw hit the floor – in a good way. [Full review here] […]

  2. This was such a shining review, you have definitely persuaded me to get my hands on Everything, Everything when it comes out! I love it when a book has a completely unique concept and feels refreshing to read! This was a great review!! -A x

Leave a Reply

