Bloguest | We can all be Heroes for a day | DeliriousDreams

Hello earthlings! It’s Kira from DeliriousDreams again! This is my second blog post for the Bloguest 2015 Project. My first one was ‘ favorite book-to-film adaptation.’ When Kayleigh sent me the list with the topics for Bloguest, there was this one topic that immediately caught my eye.
Why strong characters are important.

I think that this is such an interesting topic to talk about. In this post I will talk about why strong characters are important, examples for strong characters & what makes these fictional characters strong.

Why are strong Characters important?

I think that there are so many reasons why they are important! These Fictional Characters can encourage us to be who we are. They teach us that we should never be ashamed of who we are. No matter who or what you are, a ‘nerd’, a ‘bookworm’, a ‘loner’. We are who we are, and that’s totally okay! And I think these fictional Characters also help us to accept ourselves for who we are. I can only speak for myself here, but so many fictional Characters had a huge impact on my life and on who I am today.

Examples for strong Characters:

1. Hermione Granger – Harry Potter
Here we go again, Potterheads!
I think that Hermione is one of the strongest fictional Characters of all time. Not only did she save Harry’s & Ron’s asses multiple times and is super smart and probably one of the best Witches Hogwarts has ever seen. But that’s not what makes her strong in my eyes. There was this certain scene in the last book / film that makes her a strong person.

Taking away her parents memories of her. Putting someone elses safety first. She’d ratherhermione have her parents live in a safe world with no memory of her, than having them live in fear and danger. And that, that is a strong Character. Can you imagine what it must feel like when your own parents have no idea who you are? But she decided to keep her parents safe, she wants them to be happy and so she makes them forget about her *wiping away my tears*
That scene was so touching and it just showed what kind of person Hermione is. She’s not only brave and smart and witty. She is a loving daughter that cares about her parents more than about anything else.

What we can learn from Hermione: It’s okay to be a nerd and a bookworm. There’s no need to be ashamed of that. Hermione is the biggest bookworm of all time and she’s a freaking rockstar.

2. Neville Longbottom – Harry Potter (sorry guys, I promise not every Character will be from Harry Potter)

When we first met Neville, he was this weird looking, kinda stupid, kinda naive kid.
But he turned into such a badass! I mean, think of the last book/movie when he stood up to Lord Voldemort after Harry “died”.
I mean… He literally shouted at Lord Voldemort. That’s kinda bad ass. Neville has always been a boy that cared so much about his friends. He would never let them down. In my eyes, he is the real Hero of the Harry Potter Series.
He was a Hero in the Book & Film 7. He fought, and he fought hard.
Neville-Matthew-neville-longbottom-23780416-500-221Oh and remember when he just killed Nagini?

But not only did he fight like a Hero, he was always there for his friends and supported them, no matter what. And sometimes, he even stood up to his friends. Because he also cared about the whole House Gryffindor.tumblr_miwwc7vkUO1r39i1to2_250

I just wanna quote Dumbledore here: “’There are all kinds of courage. It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends. I therefore award ten points to Mr Neville Longbottom.’

What we can learn from Neville Longbottom: It’s not about being loud and brash every day. It’s about knowing what’s dear and worth fighting for.

3. Severus Snape – Harry Potter (I promise this is the last HP Character!)
I don’t think it’s a secret that I’m a little bit obsessed with Snape.
I think Snape is the strongest Character in Harry Potter. At the beginning it seemed like he was the bad guy, working for Voldemort, hating Harry. But in reality he did EVERYTHING to keep Harry safe. And i think that shows, how strong he is.
THink about it. He kept Harry safe, James’ son. James Potter who always picked on Severus and made his life a living hell. James, who married Lily,

the love of Sslslnape’s life. (In case you can’t tell, I’m not a big fan of James Potter, he was a stupid bully).
How strong do you have to be to protect the child of the man who stole the love of your life?
I think that Severus loved Lily more than James. God, he was so in love with her.
I don’t think i’ve ever seen somesnapelilyone so hurt. (Shoutout to Alan Rickman for being the most amazing actor of all time)
Siriusly, Snape loved Lily so much. Everything he did to keep Harry safe, he did it for her.

I mean, they had the same freaking Patronus. If that isn’t love, I don’t know what is.

snape-control-your-emotions

*tears streaming down my face*

What we can learn from Snape: You can learn from Snape how to love and that when you love someone you do everything for that person, even if that means watching that person marry someone else. Because all that matters, is that person’s happiness. You can also learn from him how to forgive & how to let go of the past.

4. Cristina Yang – Grey’s Anatomy
I decided not only to use Fictional Book Characters. So here we go Grey’s fans!
Cristina Yang. How do you describe Cristinnnnma Yang? She is the most badass Surgeon that Seattle Grace (pardon, Grey Sloan Memorial) has ever seen.
But the badass part, being Meredith’s person or her sad past (her dad dying, Burke being an ass) isn’t what makes her strong in my eyes.
The moment I realized how strong she was, was the moment she let Owen go. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a hardcore Crowen shipper and every time I see Owen & Amelia I puke into my mouth, but when she let Owen go, she was the strongest person ever.
Because Cristina loves Owen, she really does. And he loves her more than anything. But Cristina knew that their love would never be enough. Cristina knows that she’s a badass surgeon and that she’s just amazing. And she knew that she could never give Owen what he wanted. Children. Cristina knows that she has this gift, this talent. And her Career is her number 1 in life, and she’s not ashamed for that. And she knew that eventually Owen would let go of that ‘Having Kids’ dream for her. Because Owen is a great guy. And Cristina knows that he’s a great guy. And she knows that other women will realize what a great guy he is, and someone like him will easily find someone who would die to have NobodyCaresCristinaYang_zps4b4ebdaehis children. So she let him go. She let him go, because she loved him. And that is strong. Putting someone’s happiness before your own. Someone elses needs before your own. That is strong. (Plus, she ALWAYS keeps things real.)

What we can learn from Cristina: It’s not egoistical to put your dreams up first. And it’s not arrogant when you know that you are awesome and when you let people know that you are awesome. You’re not being arrogant, you’re being real. And she taught me that sometimes, you need to let people go. If you truly love someone and you know you can’t make that person happy, you have to let that person go.

5. Danny Tanner – Full House

anigif_enhanced-buzz-7922-1374067093-16
Danny Tanner is a single-raising dad of three Daughters. At the beginning of Season 1, he was a newly widdowed Dad, of a teenage girl, a pre-scholer and an Infant. And that is tough. Being a single parent is already tough enough, but also being widdowed at the age of 30? Losing the love of your life is probably the worst thing in the world. But he never really showed his daughters how upset he was, he wanted to be strong for them. He wanted to be happy for them. And that is a strong Character. Being there for someone, while in reality you could use someone to be there for you yourself. Only a few times he let other people see how heart broken he really was.
But somehow he managed to raise his daughters (with the help of Joey, Jesse & Rebecca) and he got his own happiness back. At some point he was able to accept the fact that his wife died and he moved on.

What we can learn from Danny Tanner: It’s okay to move on. There’s nothing wrong about admitting that you are sad. And it’s okay to find new love.

I think we can learn a lot from these Fictional Characters. To me, they are very important. Sometimes they cheer me up, some of them have been through stuff that I’ve been through too, and sometimes they help me cope, help me get over certain things. For me, fictional characters are like family & friends. Everything that happens to them, we are right there with them. We laugh with them & cry with them and we can learn so much from them.

They are my personal fictional heroes, and they taught us that it doesn’t take a lot to be a ‘hero’ or a strong character.

We can all be Heroes if we want to. We can all be heroes for just one day, for one book, for one movie, for one page or for just one minute. 🙂

Do you guys have a specific Fictional Character that you would consider a strong Character? Let me know!
I hope you had fun with this,I definitely had a lot of fun writing this.
And I had an amazing time with Bloguest, so thank you Kayleigh for making me a part of it. 

Thanks for reading & have a great day

❤ Kira


Instagram  Twitter  Tumblr GoodReads  Fictionpress  WordPress

