Book Tags | The Mid-Year Freak Out Tag!

I was tagged by the lovely Analee from Book Snacks. Once you’ve read my post head over and check out her blog it’s really great. For me this tag has never been more true. We’re in September now and I’m not even halfway towards my goodreads goal – I think I’m in trouble. I still have a good 4 months of reading but I am slightly worried about hitting my reading goal. I promise I’m off to read a book as soon as this is uploaded.

11. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015?

Does a re-read count? I re-read Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne and remembered why I loved the book so much. I was given it by a friend for my birthday and from what I remember I read it in a couple of days. I really liked the story behind it and of course the characters. It was a different take on an apocalypse because let’s be honest if it ever came I’d probably want to hide out in a superstore until it was over too.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015?2

Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander #2) by Diana Gabaldon. Technically I haven’t finished reading this one yet. I’m reading it now but I already prefer it to the first book. I’m a few chapters in and I already have so many questions. I’ve already bothered Cora so many times sharing some of my crazy ideas. If the book continues like this then I’ll love it more than I did Outlander.

33. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I have seen this book EVERYWHERE. Please don’t kill me because I haven’t read it yet. I have it sitting on my bookshelf waiting to be read and I am going to get around to it before the year is out. I’ve heard only good things about the book and when you hear friends and fellow bloggers rave so much about a book you know it’s one you need to read asap. I promise I will read it before my exams this year, I even pinky promise!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year?4

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. Can I share something annoying with you? We missed out on seeing Patrick Ness at the Book Festival this year by a day, just one day. I’ve seen this book popping up on Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and I’ve never wanted a book so badly in my life. I mean it is by Patrick Ness and the cover is just gorgeous. I need to get my hands on this book and I needed it like yesterday.

55. Biggest disappointment?

The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass. Please don’t hate me for this one, please don’t hate me. I loved the first 3 books in this series and so wanted to love this one just as much. I didn’t like America’s daughter at all. I badly wanted to like her, I wanted to route for her, but I couldn’t. I loved that she was nothing like her mother and she stood her own ground but I just didn’t like her.

6. Biggest surprise?6

Where the Road Takes Me by Jay McLean. I thought I knew how this book was going to play out. I had it in my head that they were going to drive off into the sunset and live happily ever after but I was wrong. This was such a fantastic read and I couldn’t believe the twist at the end. My phone almost got thrown across the room in rage – no exaggeration. I loved this book. I loved the main characters and the minor ones – everything about this book, including the cover, just screamed brilliant.

download7. Favourite new author? (debut or new to you)

Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything. How could she not be my favourite new author after writing such a fantastic debut novel. I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who has found themself a new fan in Nicola Yoon. I know her novel just came out but I’m already excited to see what she comes up with next. Oh and if you haven’t read her debut novel yet make sure you do. I’m screaming it from the rooftops until everyone I know has read this beautiful book.

8. Newest fictional crush?8

Étienne St Clair from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I just got around to reading this series this year actually, I know I was super late. I fell in love with the book and the characters and the author – I fell in love with everything. How can you not fall for a character like Étienne?

99. Newest favourite character?

Will Traynor from Me Before You. Will Traynor – that is all I can say about this. He is such a wonderful character and I really like him. That’s all I’m saying. This is all Kira’s fault!

10. Book that made you cry?

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Double bang! This book was so fantastic I can’t form words to express how much I loved the book. It’s such a beautiful story which such lovely characters. I read this book because Kira told me to and I may have spent the next hour afterwards sobbing in my bedroom. It’s so heartbreakingly beautiful but them most of the best books are, right?

11. Book that made you happy?11

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I loved this book it was a very sweet read. One of the things I loved most about the book was the ending. Those 3 words that were written on the postcard. We never do get to find out what those 3 words are but I like not knowing. I like being able to make up what those 3 words are and imagining what it held for their story afterwards.

1212. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year?

Paper Towns by John Green. I saw the film at the weekend and I fell in love with it all over again. I reminded me why I loved the book so much in the first place and it was very true to the book. The changes that were made I loved, they were done for the right reasons. In fact I think they even made the film better. I loved that Angela went on the road trip this time around. I mean those road trip scenes were hilarious.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year?13

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider. I picked up this book the week after it came out and I wasn’t disappointed. I loved the book just like I loved her first book. If you’re interested in reading the review I wrote you can find it here.

1414. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year? (or received)

Dream a Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher. I am in love with this author, with the story and with the beautiful book cover. This really was such a fantastic read and I couldn’t put it down when I started. I’ve read all of the books Giovanna has written so far and this one is by far my favourite. If you’re in the bookshop and looking for something to read give this a go.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

A lot, I have so many books to read. Here are a few that are on my TBR list for the next couple of weeks:

  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • Another Day by David Levithan
  • Fallen by Lauren Kate
  • Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

I realise that the middle of the year is now over so I won’t be tagging anyone for this tag. If however you see this and want to take part in it then consider yourself tagged! (Credit for the header image)


Twitter| Instagram| Bloglovin| Goodreads| Pinterest| Tumblr

5 thoughts on “Book Tags | The Mid-Year Freak Out Tag!

  1. I love Nicola Yoon too! She’s honestly a new favourite author of mine, hands down!
    And Eleanor and Park makes me both happy and sad. The ending makes me want to cry every time! 😭
    Great post, I loved reading your answers for this tag!
    xoxo 💋

    • Glad you enjoyed the post – I loved Eleanor and Park and that ending was so perfect. Will forever wonder what those three words were. I can’t even explain how much love I have for Nicola – ushc a fantastic author! 🙂

Leave a Reply

