Book Review | Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

“Sometimes I think I won’t ever feel safe until I can count my last days on one hand. Three more days to get through until I don’t have to worry about life anymore.”

51DmMySxzaL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_★★★★
Book: Sharp Objects
Author: Gillian Flynn
Publication Date: September 26th 2006
Amazon UK: Sharp Objects
Amazon US: Sharp Objects

Sharp Objects follows Camille, a journalist from Chicago. She is sent back to Wind Gap, her small hometown, to cover the story of two girls who have been murdered. As Camille digs deeper into the death of these girls her life starts to become a mystery not only revealing a troubled past but also a town that is full of dark twisted secrets.

This is the second book of Gillian Flynn’s that I have read, the first being Gone Girl. The writing of this book reminded me of why I fell in love with her novels in the first place. She has a talent for writing stories wrapped in mystery that leave you wanting more after each page. A small town murder mystery isn’t a new topic – it’s been around for a while. However, Flynn made the choice of topic her own by adding a unique twist of mystery that she’s so fantastic at.

Although Camille was the main character in this novel there is a lot of focus on other characters, in particular Camille’s family. I really loved reading and learning about her family because it was so well written and thoughtout. The background surrounding each of the characters, including Camille was brilliant. This only highlights yet another reason of why she is such a great author.

One of the main problems I had with this book, which is the reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5, was the ending. I really loved trying to figure out who the person was and what possible reason they could have had to commit this crime. Reading the book I was almost certain I knew who it was but of course I was wrong. What bugged me was that this amazing plot twist seemed rushed. Everything was explained and taken care of in basically the last few chapters. I think it would have been good to have it take more than a few chapters because, to me, it felt rushed.

If you’re looking for a dark and mystery filled read then I’d highly recommend this book. It’s a great story which has both dark and intriguing characters. I can’t help but wonder how Gillian Flynn can not only think up these amazing stories but also these plot twists that I can never seem to work out until they happen. I’m looking forward to reading more of her work.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

Leave a Reply

