Book Review | Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

“All I can say is that you make me… you make me into someone I couldn’t even imagine. You make me happy, even when you’re awful. I would rather be with you – even the you that you seem to think is diminished – than with anyone else in the world.”

9★★★★★
Book: Me Before You (Me Before You #1)
Author: Jojo Moyes
Publication Date: 31st December 2012
Amazon UK: Me Before You
Amazon US: Me Before You


I read this book back in August and quickly fell in love with it. It has taken me a very long time to figure out how to convey my thoughts and emotions about this book. Even now, thinking about the ending of the book, makes me want to lie on the floor and cry. I’m not sure this review will make it clear enough but if you haven’t read this book please go pick up a copy. You won’t be disappointed.

I had heard a lot of good things about this book for a long time. My mum even recommended the book to me so I knew I had to pick it up. The one person that convinced me to read it most was Kira (she has a blog if you want to check it out.She’s pretty much the reason I stayed up until 2 in the morning in tears, clutching this book to my chest. Thanks for that!

The book is about Louisa who just lost her job and is looking for a new one. Desperate to find something she accepts the job as a caregiver to a young quadriplegic, Will Traynor. Will’s life was thrilling and filled with action and adventure until an accident left him paralyzed from the neck down. Faced with the knowledge that he will never recover his entire future is changed. With this he makes a decision that he feels is right for him but his family don’t agree. Enter Louisa.

At the start of the book Will and Louisa don’t have the best of starts. Will is cranky, moody and has no interest in forming any kind of relationship with Louisa. I did love reading this transition from seeing him hate her to see him forming this genuine friendship with her. It was very bitter-sweet.

While reading the book it was very easy to feel for Will. The frustration he felt about not being able to do anything was very easy to understand and sympathise with. However something I really enjoyed was seeing the pieces of happiness brought into his life by Louisa. You could really tell how much she cared about Will and how much she wanted him to see that he could still enjoy life despite his situation. I really adored the friendship these two shared throughout the book.

I loved reading about all the little things Louisa planned for her and Will to do together. I don’t want to say too much on this and if you’ve read the book you’ll already know why. It was in these parts of the book alone that you could see how much Louisa really cared for him. Similarly I loved reading about Louisa’s birthday dinner for two reasons. The first because it was really great to see the interaction that she had with her family and how much love they all had for each other. The second because of the very loving and thoughtful gift Will gave her.

The book ended the only way it could have ended. The second book Me After You (which you can find on Amazon UK/Amazon US) came out this month. I’ve been a little anxious about this book but also very excited. I’m a little worried about what direction the book takes but I’m also looking forward to giving it a read and finding out what happens next.

I enjoyed reading every part of this book. I laughed, I cried and I fell in love with the characters and the story. I can’t recommend this book enough to you. The book really makes you appreciate everything you have in life. If you’ve read the book let me know what you thought in the comments below.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

10 thoughts on “Book Review | Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! ALL THE FEELS.
    Just reading this… I’ve got tears in my eyes!! I’m wondering if one day I will stop apologizing for this! I am really sorry for breaking your heart!
    But every time you talk about Me Before You and mention me I have to laugh 😀 😀 It cut you deep!
    Not sure If I should keep laughing about it or keep apologizing.
    Are we ready for After You? Will we ever be ready?
    I don’t think so!

    ps. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!! THE FEELS

Leave a Reply

