Sunday Write Ups #1

My head has been in writing mode for the last few weeks. It’s meant I’ve been constantly distracted with plots and characters but it’s been a lot of fun. I started something new and although it’s still a long way from being finished I’m loving what I’ve already conjured up. I’m hoping all these creative ideas will continue and this will one day be a finished product. I’m calling it The Long Way Home and it’s a story that follows both Nathan and Ellie. I’m afraid right now that’s all I can tell you but I do have a snippet here for you to read. Let me know what you think in the comments below – I’m a big fan of this little scene between Nathan and Ellie and I hope you are too.


“Can I ask you something?” I breathed lifting my coffee cup to my lips. The liquid burned my tongue as I swallowed. I quickly pulled the cup away deciding to wait until it was cooler before taking another sip.

“Ask me anything you want,” he replied. A hint of a familiar smile played on his lips as he turned to look at me.

“You never take that necklace off,” I noted glancing at the back of his neck where the silver chain was peeking out. “Not when you have a shower, not when you sleep, never. Why?”

“It was a present from my mum,” he answered. Reaching underneath his red top he pulled the necklace from it’s hiding spot.

I reached out and grabbed the oval pendant that was attached to the silver chain. On the pendant was a man carry a child. Engraved around the edges were the words ‘St Christopher protect us’. I ran my thumb across the pendant admiring it closely.

“It’s a lovely gift,” I admitted pulling my eyes from the pendant to look up at him.

“When I was at school we were told the story of St Christopher. He was in the woods one day when he saw a child standing next to a river. He carried that child he didn’t know across the river. When they were both safe on the other side the child revealed himself as Christ. That’s why he’s the patron saint of travelers. My mum gave me this for my twelfth birthday and made me promise always to wear it. It was the age where I was starting to go off on my own without her nearby to watch me. She said this way someone would always be looking out for me when she couldn’t.” He smiled as he told the story and I smiled back at him. It was so clear to see just how much love he had for his mum and how much love she had for him.

“I’m sure she’ll be glad to know that you’re still wearing it eleven years later.

“If I tell you something promise me you won’t laugh?” He asked. Before he continued the conversation he held up his left hand stretching his pinky towards me.

“Promise,” I replied wrapping my smallest finger around his.

“I miss her a lot,” he whispered into my ear. I could feel the warmth of his breath against my neck. “I miss her more than I ever thought I would. I know that sounds ridiculous coming from the guy who phones his mum every two days but I do.”

“I’m positive she misses you just as much, maybe even more.” I smiled nudging my elbow against his arm.

I wondered what it must be like for his mum knowing that her son is somewhere out there but never knowing where. I couldn’t help but wonder if my dad thinks about me in that way and if he misses me the way Nathan’s mum misses him. I’ve never truly missed the love and warmth that you get from family until today.

“Here,” Nathan pulled the necklace from around his neck and held it in front of me. “I want you to have this.”

“I can’t” I protested shaking my head. “Imagine what your mum would say if she found out you took it off.”

“I don’t need it anymore, I’m going home.” He reassured me. Reaching his hands behind my neck he clasped the necklace around me. The pendant dropped onto my chest as if it had always belonged there. “I had a feeling it would be the perfect fit,” he added laughing.

“Nathan,” I sighed but he stopped me from saying anything more.

“Ellie, please, I want you to take this. I’m going home to a place I have always been safe. You have no idea where you’re going and I like that about you. I like that you can just pack up and go somewhere you don’t know. But here’s the thing, I think it’s time you start letting someone other than you look out for you.” He reached for my hand and tangled his fingers through mine.

“Would you hold it against me if I told you that this is one of the nicest things anyone has ever done for me in a long time and cried a little?” I asked as my eyes filled with tears.

“No,” he smiled.

“Good,” I replied. I lowered my head resting it against his shoulder.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

One thought on “Sunday Write Ups #1

Leave a Reply

