Let’s Talk About… Turning 21

This past week has been filled with a lot of laughter, food and of course cake. On Sund0ay I turned 21 and that’s pretty exciting. 21 years ago my parents were blessed with one of the greatest gifts they were ever given, or so I like to tell them. This year to celebrate my birthday I had a lovely relaxing day at home with my family. Having a birthday that falls during coursework deadline week is never fun. Although this does mean that we just get to postpone the celebrations for a couple of weeks.

Turning 21 is a big deal for me. When I was younger I always associated turning 21 with finally being an adult. Now that I am 21 does that mean I’m a considered a responsible adult? I don’t think I’m ready to be both responsible and an adult. I mean that is a lot to deal with.

At the start of last week I had a little freak out moment about turning 21. I always thought that by 21 I’d have my life figured out and I’d be in this really great place. I’d have this amazing wonderful job that I loved and I’d have people around me who I adored. I thought I’d have my own place with my own rules and the freedom that came with that. I thought I’d have the money and the time to go travel the world whenever I wanted to and see everything I’d dreamed of seeing since I was 10 years old. Spoiler alert I don’t have my life sorted out and I can’t afford to go flying off around the world just yet. I do have an incredible bunch of people around me every day so I can argue that out of that list I have the best parts of it.

I am very far away from having my life figured out. Truth time I’m studying a degree and I’m not really sure what I want to with it after my four years are up, which terrifyingly is only a year and a half away. My life is a big fat gigantic mess but in the best possible way. I can’t tell you what I want to do with my life or where I want to live in a few years time. I can’t even tell you what I want for dinner tomorrow. At 21 my life isn’t like how I once imagined it to be but you know what, that’s okay.

One day, maybe far into the future, I’m going have my life all figured out. I’m going to have a wonderful job I love and I’ll still have people around me who I care a lot about. I’m going to have my own place and my own freedom that it brings. I’m going to be able to save up and travel around the world seeing everything I’ve always wanted to see. I’ve decided that not having everything figured out at 21 is okay. I have plenty of time to sort things out and I am very excited to see what this next year bring.

So here’s to 21 years and not having a clue what’s happening!


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Turning 21

  1. Happy Belated Birthday! I turned 21 two weeks ago as well! Also, I completely understand!

    While I was reading this post, I found myself vigorously nodding along to EVERYTHING. Don’t worry, we’ll figure it out 🙂

    • Thank you and happy belated birthday to you too, I hope you had a brilliant day filled with a lot of love and cake. Everything will just all make sense one day and until then we can just eat lots of cake and pretend we know what’s going on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

