Blogmas 2015 | Day 26 – The Day of Rest

Christmas has come and gone but the festivies are still going strong. I’ve just realised that rhymes and I didn’t do it on purpose. For a lot of people Boxing Day (which is what we call the day after Christmas here in the UK) means going out to the shops and getting a head start on all the sales. I like shopping as much as anyone but walking around a centre full of people just isn’t how I want to spend Boxing Day.

Instead we do something a lot more fun and a lot less stressful. For us Boxing Day is pretty much a stay in your pyjamas kind of day. We just lounge around the house and eat the leftovers from yesterday. I’ve already had two helpings of chocolate cake and a leftovers sandwich which was fantastic. We tend to sit together and maybe watch a few Christmas films and whatever else is on TV. It’s your typical “I ate too much yesterday and can’t be bothered doing anything today” day. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I’ve never actually known why they called it Boxing Day. When I was kid I used to think that it was because people would fight each other. I grew up and was told that wasn’t the case. So I started thinking maybe it’s because there’s a lot of leftover boxes from Christmas that get recycled. I’ve just now googled to see what it is and I’ve been wrong for 21 years. It is called Boxing day because it’s when servants and tradesmen woud recieve gifts known as a Christmas Box. See you learn something new every day.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

 

6 thoughts on “Blogmas 2015 | Day 26 – The Day of Rest

    • It’s the best way to spend the day I think. It’s nice to see that we’re not the only ones who do this. They’re both great films. I love Despicable Me – “IT’S SO FLUFFY I’M GONNA DIE!!!”

    • This year my mum got a chocolate cake that feeds 16 – there were 4 of us for dinner, haha. We also have plenty of mince pies because she clicked the wrong number when she was ordering online. I’m eating a mince pie as I type this up 🙂 Hope you had a great Boxing Day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

