Book Review| This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

“If you cooperate, some of you might go home today. All you have to do is listen carefully to what I’m saying. No screaming, no running, no phones, and certainly no attempting to disarm me. Today, you’ll all listen.”

0★★★
Book: This Is Where It Ends
Author: Marieke Nijkamp
Publication Date: 5th January 2016
Amazon UK: This Is Where It Ends
Amazon US: This Is Where It Ends


I recieved this book as an ARC from Netgalley thanks to SourceBooks Fire. After reading the synopsis I was very interested in the story. Shootings seem to be happening more now than ever so I don’t think there could have been a more appropriate time for a book like this.

The story follows four characters for an hour during a school shouting. Some of them are trapped in the hall with the shooter and the others are outside the hall. There are also tweets added into the dialouge which I thought was a nice added extra. I sometimes get worried when there are different point of views within a book normally because I am easily confused. Although it took me a little while to remind myself of who everyone was I soon got into the flow of it.

The book is basically every parents worst nightmare and I can’t even imagine what it must be like to 1) be in a situation like this or 2) know someone in one of these situations. It’s one of those cases where your flight or fight mode comes on and for those students outside of the hall they decide to fight to save their classmates.

I’m worried that if I keep talking about this book I’ll ruin something. I feel like this is a book you need to go in blindfolded to otherwise it’s ruined. I will say this – the book is dark, shocking and frightening but it is worth a read.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

One thought on “Book Review| This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Leave a Reply

