Book Review | Me and Earl and The Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews

“There was just something about her dying that I had understood but not really understood, if you know what I mean. I mean, you can know someone is dying on an intellectual level, but emotionally it hasn’t really hit you, and then when it does, that’s when you feel like shit.”

★★★★

0Book: Me and Earl and The Dying Girl
Author: Jesse Andrews
Publication Date: March 1st 2012
Amazon UK: Me and Earl and The Dying Girl
Amazon US: Me and Earl and The Dying Girl
Book Depository: Me and Earl and The Dying Girl
Movie Trailer: Me and Early and The Dying Girl (2015)


Me and Earl and The Dying Girl was the debut novel from Jesse Andrews. The story follows Greg Gaines, a senior in high school. He’s basically made his way through high school as carefree and drama free as possible – by being everyone’s acquaintance. The only real friend he has is Earl who he spends most of the time making films with. When Greg’s mum tells him that Rachel, his childhood friend, has been diagnosed with leukemia she wants him to go and see her.

Being truthful this is one of the only books about cancer that I’ve read where I haven’t been ugly crying at the end. I personally feel that the book takes a different approach to cancer and I found that refreshing. There are a lot of books out there about cancer – The Fault in Our Stars and My Sisters Keeper are a few that come to my mind. This book was different and in a good way. The kind of good that keeps you up until 2AM reading.

The story is told by Greg and he is your typical average teenage boy. Despite not having that many friends other than Earl, and I guess you can count Rachel, he’s pretty much friends with everyone. I know I said that the book is about cancer but in the same way that it is it isn’t. I’ve just confused myself with that sentence let’s back track a few steps. Yes the book is about a teenage girl with cancer but at the same time it’s Greg’s story. It’s basically like his journal of his senior year at school and all the craziness that goes with it. It just so happens that his craziness involves making movies with Earl and having a friend who has leukemia.

Another thing that I really really love about this book is that it’s funny. Like I’m laughing out loud at 2AM funny. At times the humour throughout the book was rude but at the same time it was just something you couldn’t not laugh at. I think that’s why this book stands out from any of the other books about cancer that I’ve read. I mean you can’t compare this to The Fault in Our Stars or My Sisters Keeper – and they shouldn’t have to be compared. All three books are  wonderfully written with great stories on there own. I just feel that there was something in this book that set it apart from others from the same genre.

Me and Earl and The Dying Girl was a beautiful debut novel. I’m looking forward to picking up more of Jesse Andrews’ work and seeing what it has to offer. If you’ve read this book let me know what you thought below.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

4 thoughts on “Book Review | Me and Earl and The Dying Girl – Jesse Andrews

  1. Awesome review! I’m glad that you liked the novel, and I agree, the approach to cancer that Andrews is refreshing compared to the (tortured) metaphors about life that some other books try to tease out of it. The movie adaptation is also very good, I definitely recommend it 🙂

    • Thank you. I just felt that the book was more about Greg’s last year at school than the cancer storyline which I loved. I haven’t seen the film yet I’ll need to watch it soon. I’ve heard mixed reviews about it but it’s great to hear you liked it. 🙂

  2. I’m glad you liked this book! I liked it too, and I agree that one of its biggest strengths is its different approach to cancer. Very refreshing, and honestly very light-hearted for a book involving death, loss and grief. 🙂

    • I love it when authors take a theme that other people have been writing about for a while but add their own spin to it. This one certainly worked out for the better and like you said was refreshing and light-hearted. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

