Let’s Talk About… The Me Before You Trailer

Yesterday it was announced that we would finally be getting the trailer for the book adaptation of Me Before You. I obviously was very excited about this so have been waiting all day to finally watch the trailer. Since it’s something I’ve been looking forward to for so long I decided why not talk about it on the blog.  So go grab some chocolate and tea, sit back and watch the trailer and then scroll down so we can have a chat about it.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.” – Will Traynor

Okay where do we start? The red dress, the date, the bumble bee tights or the music? I think we should go back to the start and talk about the casting. I want to stand on a chair and applaud the casting director while cheering loudly. I’ve been really happy with the casting choices from the start. I obviously had seen Sam from The Hunger Games and Love, Rosie so I had no doubt in my mind that he would be the perfect Will. I’m also really excited about seeing Emilia bring Lou to life – I can’t see anyone else as Lou now, for me Emilia was the perfect choice. The only one I’m having trouble with is Matthew Lewis as Patrick but I think this is more a me problem than an actual casting problem. I didn’t like Patrick in the book but I love Matthew so I feel this doesn’t balance out. However I’m sure he’ll portray Partick perfectly.

I didn’t think it was possible to be really excited about a film after only seeing the trailer. From the bumblee bee tights to the date everything already seems so perfect. I don’t know how many of you have read the book so I don’t want to go into too much detail and ruin the story for you. However the bumble bee tights scene was one of my favourites in the book. I think I actually squealed when I read the chapter – I’m not joking. I think I’ve mentioned bumble bee tights more in this post than I ever have in my whole entire life so we’ll leave it there but I promise you it’s very cute. The date scene also looks like it’s going to be great. I loved the quote in the trailer and I did squeal a little when watching it. It’s just so stinking sweet and lovely. I really want to go and see this film tomorrow.

I think playing an Ed Sheeran song in the trailer is both brilliant and heartbreaking. When the song started I did get a little emotional I won’t lie. Just thinking about that book makes me emotional. It’s all Kira’s fault – she made me read the book. Kira is the reason I was crying at two in the morning over this book. Of course it was the best kind of crying but it was still crying.

Here’s my public service announcement that will probably be happening from now until June – and maybe even after. Read this book. It’s sweet and funny and charming and such a beautiful story. I laughed, I cried, I smiled, I cried and then I cried some more. I have a love hate relationship with this book – pick up a copy and come back and let me know what you thought. If you have read the book what scene are you most excited to see portrayed on the big screen?


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest |


Me Before You Book Review

10 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… The Me Before You Trailer

  1. I just read a great post but then suddenly all I saw was “Kira’s fault” ?!?! 😀 😀 😀 😀
    GET OVER IT. It’s not MY fault! 1. I didn’t write the book. 2. Isabell gave the book to me. And sorry but, I suffer, you suffer. It’s a friendship rule!!!!!!!!!!! 😀
    Isabell made me read it, I made you, my Mom and my brother’s Girlfriend read it. You made a friend read it. You should all form a ‘Kira broke our heart, let’s get revenge’ club! 😀
    But the post was great! The trailer was perfect, the songs the Bee tights ❤
    CAN'T WAIT!!!

    • Hahaha, it’s also your fault that I read a really sad book that I now love so there is a brightside to it. I should be blaming Isabell and not you – I’ll keep that in mind, haha.

  2. OH MY GOD I HAD NO IDEA THE TRAILER WAS RELEASED!!! Thank you so much for posting this, I don’t know how I missed this! I loved the book so much and yes, I totally agree, Sam Claflin is such a perfect Will!! Soooo excited for the movie to be released. ❤ ❤

    • Haha, glad you got to see it. I was on my way home when the trailer came out yesterday and I forgot headphones. Although it was a lovely treat to watch when I came home. June can’t come quick enough.

Leave a Reply

