Book Review | Lobsters by Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison

“Half the problem is that I do the same thing with boys that I do with clothes: I imagine an outfit before I go shopping rather than just waiting to see what’s in the shops when I get there.”

download★★★

Book: Lobsters
Author: Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison
Amazon UK:
Lobsters
Amazon US: Lobsters
Book Deposiory: Lobsters


Lobsters is a story told from both Hannah and Sams point of view. They’re teenagers who go to different schools and have a different group of friends. They shouldn’t bump into each other but they do by accident at a party in a bathroom. They both wanted to get away from the chaos of the party which obviously happens when you put hundreds of teenagers in the same house. During their first conversation it’s slightly awkward but in a really cute way – they talk a lot about hot Ribena. Anyway they go they’re sepearte ways and while Same goes to find his friends Hannah goes to meet up with her crush, Freddie. The only problem is Hannah can’t stop thinking about Sam or Toilet Boy as she knows him.

I think Lobsters was great at portraying one aspect of teenage life. It’s a really honest book that did make me laugh a lot but I wouldn’t say it’s relatable to all teenagers because not all teenagers go out partying every weekend or go on lads and girls holidays. I instantly knew how this book was going to end when I started it. I think everyone probably knew it but that isn’t a bad thing. I loved reading the journey it took for the characters to get to their ending. Believe me it wasn’t a straight forward path – there were a lot of complications.

I’m going to be honest with you the reason I picked up this book was because of my love for Friends. The characters, like Ross and Rachel, are looking for their very own lobster. I watch friends pretty much every day so I figured a book about finding your lobster had to be good. Spoiler alert I was right this is a good read. However, since seeing the “see he’s her lobster” episode of friends I’ve pretty said I want to find my own lobster. (I am pretty much the kind of person who takes things at face value. If you told me you worked for the Queen the chances are I’d believe you. I feel this is important to know before I go on.) So I believed Phoebe when she said lobsters mate for life. This book told me differently and I spent some time looking it upand it’s true. Lobsters don’t mate for life. However now looking back I realise I probably should have seen this coming knowing Phoebe. I felt this is something funy that should be shared and in case anyone else believed that lobsters mate for life. (Please someone tell me they did too so I’m not the only person who believedPhoebe.)

Throughout the book there are some parts that are told in a really dramatic, oh my god how could you, kind of way which I really liked. Maybe as a reader you sit and wonder why the characters are getting worked up over something that can easily be fixed. I liked that the authors done this. This is probably one of the biggest things that they’ve ever had to deal with so in their world this is a dramatic complicated mess. In that sense it of course deserves and over-dramatic reaction.

I really liked book. It made me laugh and was filled with a lot of sweet moments. I do think this book was aimed at readers younger than me but I still enjoyed the read. If you’ve read this book let me know what you thought below.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Lobsters by Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison

    • Yay – so happy I wasn’t the only one. Me too although this won’t stop me from saying it. 🙂 Sometimes you just need to read predictable books, thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

