Let’s Talk About… 2016 Book-To-Film Adaptations I’m Excited About

Last week I talked about the books I was excited to read this year so it seems only right to mention some book-to-film adaptations I’m equally excited about. I feel like 2016 is a great year for films – like there are SO many good films coming out this year. I feel like I’m constantly annoying people by saying “let’s go see that!” Anyway I’ve managed to cut down my film list to 8 (just like the books) can I get a chocolate medal please? I’ve been extra nice and included the trailer just in case you lovely lot want to have a watch.

Me Before You Based on The Book by Jojo Moyes

I’ve talked about Me Before You a lot this past week. Spoiler alert – expect more in the near future. I fell head over heels for this book and I am all kinds of excited for the film. I mean the trailer is so unbelieveable sweet and it looks like it’s going to be an excellent adaptation. I’m crazy amounts excited to go to the cinema to see this film. I’m already stocking up on tissues to take with me because I am of course going to ugly cry the entire time.

The 5th Wave Based on The Book by Rick Yancey

The film has been out for a little while but I haven’t found time to go and see it yet. I loved the book and the trailer looks amazing. I just finished re-reading the book so I can start the second one. I was reminded just how much I love the book. I can’t wait to grab my friend and go and see this one.

The BFG Based on The Book by Roald Dahl

I remember in primary school we got to read a book when we finished our work early or for half an hour every Monday after the register was taken. It was basically my favourite time of school. The Roald Dahl books were always the first ones I grabbed when I saw one because every child grew up reading his books – or at least I did. It’s so great seeing a trailer for a book you loved from your childhood. I’m excited to see this one.

Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates Based on The Book by Mike and Dave Stangle

So I didn’t actually know this was based on a book or a true story. I watched the trailer last week and got excited about this. It looks hilarious. Not sure if I’ll get around to reading the book before the film but I am looking forward to seeing this.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Based on The Book by Ransom Riggs

As far as I am aware there isn’t a trailer for this yet – if I’m wrong please let me know and I’ll add it in. So I actually haven’t read this book yet but it’s been on my list. The book sounds amazing and people I know who have read it loved it. It’s on my list to read this summer – hopefully sooner if I can find the time.

A Monster Call Based on The Book by Patrick Ness

I haven’t read this book yet – shakes head. I’m so behind but I have heard nothing but good things for this book. It’s actually on my list of books to read this month so SOON! I will no longer be behind. I haven’t yet watched the trailer because I’ve been worried about it spoiling the book. I did go look it up and add it in just for you lovely lot though – don’t say I never do anything nice.

The Girl on the Train Based on The Book by Paula Hawkins

Again, I don’t think there is a trailer out for this film yet. If I’m wrong let me know and I’ll add it in. I haven’t read this book either yet but I’ve heard a lot of good things. It sounds like a really great book and I’ve been patiently waiting to get my hands on this book. I think I’m going to go out and buy it as a “you survived coursework deadline week” treat. I might even go buy it as a pre-treat because I need to read this book.

Fantastic Beats and Where To Find Them Based on The Book by J.K. Rowling

I don’t think I need to say much about this film. Another film set in the Harry Potter world – all the excitment!! Plus it comes out in November which is my birthday month! Ahhhh!

So there it is 8 films I’m very excited to go and see this year. Let me know if you’re excited about any listed above. I’m also really excited about Captain America: Civil War because reasons. If you haven’t already guessed from my twitter feed last week I am of course Team Cap! I’m also looking forward to Suicide Squad that film looks pretty great. Like I said before 2016 just seems like an amazing year for films. Did I miss any book-to-film adaptations you’re looking forward to? Let me know in the comments below. Also let me know what other films you’re exicted about hitting cinemas this year.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… 2016 Book-To-Film Adaptations I’m Excited About

  1. I can’t WAIT for Fantastic Beasts 😀 I recently read Miss Peregrine’s and loved it, so I can’t wait for that one either 😀 You should definitely read it soon! I haven’t read A Monster Calls yet either, but I absolutely loved what I’ve read of Patrick Ness’ so far, so hopefully I’ll get to reading it before the film comes out 😊

    • I’m so glad you loved it. I’ve only heard good things about it which makes me want to go buy myself a copy like now. I’m hoping I can read it before summer however it probably won’t happen. I am planning on reading it this year – hopefully before the film comes out. A Monster calls sounds brilliant – this is one that I need to read asap. I hope you get a chance to read it before the film comes out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

