February Wrap Up | 2016

Hello you lovely lot, I hope you’ve all had a great month. Today is a very rare post that won’t be happening again for another 4 years as it’s February 29th!! I feel like even with the extra day this month has been non-stop crazy. The cold weather and the tons of uni work have me craving a holiday somewhere warm and relaxing. All I want to do is curl up with a book and just chill out for a few days. Sadly I know this won’t be happening soon as March is going to be an equally busy, if not crazier, month. Pass the coffee I think I’m going to be needing it.

This month I pulled myself out of a very small book slump and caught up on my Goodreads reading challenge. Its always nice logging onto Goodreads and seeing you’re a few books ahead. Although I’m pretty sure I’m 3 books behind again, oops. I also celebrated a few birthdays this month. My favourite person in the whole world turned 17 so I got to surprise her with some cake which was really nice. Other than that I’ve basically been huddled up inside my room working my way through essays and my dissertation proposal. All this does is remind me that my time at uni is almost over which is scary to think about.

Book wise this month I’ve read quite a bit and done so much better than last month. I finally got around to reading Open Road Summer by Emery Lord. It was such a great read and I demolished that book in like 2 days. I also read an ARC of Flawed by Cecelia Ahern and it’s so brilliant. It was a little slow to start with but it was an entertaining read. The review will be coming later next month. I also read my first Stephen King book, 1408, but I was left disappointed. I didn’t find it as scary as I thought I would and I’ve always associated Stephen King with horror. Hoping my next read of his will be better. I also read the classic Wuthering Heights which I enjoyed although it wasn’t what I was expecting.

Here’s some of my favourite posts from my favourite bloggers:

Liam @ Liam’s Library shared a post on books he hated but everyone loved

Brett @ Brett Michael Orr shared 10 songs he wished were books

Jenny @ Jenny In Neverland shared a no bake white Oreo truffles recipe

Analee @ Book Snacks shared what she thinks makes a good romance book

Here’s some of my favourite things from the internet:

Adele singing When We Were Young at the Brits

Corey Gray’s cover of Shawn Mendes’ Stitches

Chocolate Easter Egg Mr Potato Head

Leo DiCaprio Wins Best Actor at The Academy Awards


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr

 

 

21 thoughts on “February Wrap Up | 2016

  1. Thank you so much for including my post in your wrap-up, it means so much to me! Oh god, February was such a busy month I could barely keep up, so congrats on all the reading you got done. I’m so happy Leo finally won his Oscar and Adele’s performance was stunning. Have a lovely March and thanks again 🙂

    • You’re welcome I loved it. Winning the Oscar was long overdue but I’m glad he finally has one – we can’t make any Oscar jokes now though. Thank you I hope you also have a great month ahead. 🙂

      • Yes it was so overdue. A TV station in Australia put Titanic on the TV on free to air for the first time to celebrate. He should have won one for that! I love it so much. Thank you 🙂

  2. Sounds like you’ve been out celebrating friends birthdays a lot! You’ve really caught up on your reading though Kayleigh… I’m finding it difficult to read as much at the moment as I’m so busy… ugh… Good luck with your final throes of University and whatever you decide to do afterwards.

    • I have a feeling it’s going to start going down hill again. Things are going to get crazy these next couple of months. Thank you I feel I may have worded it wrong though, I still have another year left.

  3. Great post. I’ve been celebrating Leo’s win since last night, LOLOL. I’m so happy. Your read a wide variety of books this month, which always makes me happy. 🙂 Wuthering Heights is one of my favorite classics. Heathcliff is so intriguing.

    • Thank you – I woke up this morning with a smile on my face when I found out. A long overdue win. I try to stray from my comfort zone every now and again – keeps things interesting. It wasn’t what I had expected but I did enjoy it. Heathcliff is very intriguing – I feel thats a very simple way to explain him.

      • Ah the dreaded question. I still have another year after this one as I’m in 3rd year. Afterwards I have a couple of areas that I’d be interest in going into and I’m looking at post graduate courses. The whole life after uni is a little complicated – so many choices and areas I’m interested in.

      • That’s the problem with Psychology lots of interesting areas you’ve just got to try and pick the area that interests you most. Hopefully I’ll have it narrowed down by the summer. Thank you that’s very lovely of you to say 🙂 X

      • I’m really interesting in going into psychology in the future. My dad works as as an art psychotherapist too. I’m sure you’ll sort something out and be fantastic at whatever you do xx 🙂

Leave a Reply

