Book Review | Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

“If we could capture feelings like we capture pictures, none of us would ever leave our rooms. It would be so tempting to inhabit the good moments over and over again. But I don’t want to be the kind of person who lives backwardly, who memorializes moments before she’s finished living in them. So I plant my feet here on this hillside beside a boy who is undoing me, and I kiss him back like I mean it. And, God help me, with the sky wrapped around us in every direction, I do mean it.”

★★★★★

16081202Book: Open Road Summer
Author: Emery Lord
Publication Date: April 15th 2014
Amazon UK: Open Road Summer
Amazon US: Open Road Summer
Book Depository: Open Road Summer


Reagan is spending the summer with her best friend leaving her bad decisions in the past. Her best friend Dee, is country royalty Lilah Montgomery. This means they’ll both be on a much needed girls only tour of the country as Lilah performs concert after concert. However the girls only tour is put on hold after a tabloid scandal thereatens Lilah’s reputation. Enter Matt Finch, the classifiable good guy musician who is sent in to deflect some off the bad press. He’s also the boy Reagen is trying to pretend she doesn’t want to know.

Open Road Summer is the first novel I read my Emery Lord and I absolutely loved it. I fell hard for dreamboat Matt Finch – I don’t know how anyone couldn’t. This was such a great fast read that I finished it in 2 days.

What I loved most about this book was that the main focus of it was friendship. This book is how you write a totally amazing friendship. This is a deep friendship, the”I do anything for you” kind, that everyone has with someone. It was written so well that you couldn’t for a second doubt that they didn’t love each other like sisters. I also liked that their friendship was dismissed or altered when Matt came along which was really nice.

Raegan has had a pretty bad year and this was her summer to turn it all around, with the support of Dee. I really liked how it was revealed the bad decisions she had made and how she ended up not liking who she was. I loved reading the Raegan she was now and comparing it was the Reagan she was before.

Dee’s storyline was one I also really liked. I felt that the dynamics of her wanting to have a career but also have the struggle of what she was losing was written really well. It was easy to feel for her in a lot of situations and I have no idea how I’d be able to cope with the constant press and the interviews. I imagine it’s a lot to deal with for anyone but for a teenager it’s got to be a challenge.

Matt wasn’t this perfect guy who had his whole life together and everything figured out. He was actually a pretty complicated character which I liked. He wasn’t perfect but in a way he was which doesn’t make sense but it’s true. Matt is sweet and lovely and everything you want the complicated love interest in a story to be. One thing I really want to mention is that any guy who knows when ice-cream is essential is a keeper. Seriously! Okay I really like Matt Finch I’m putting it out there in case you haven’t already guessed it.

My downfall with this book is that it’s full of clichés. Reagen makes a comment, after Matt has written a song about her, that she’s not the kind of girl who likes guys writing songs for her. I mean really? If Matt Finch was standing singing a song he wrote for me I wouldn’t compain at all. The ending of the book was also something I predicted happening. It’s not a bad thing sometimes all we want is to read a predictable swoon filled book and I didn’t enjoy it any less. I did love the ending it was cute in a really predictable way.

This book screams summer read so I would recommend it for the summer. I just obviously couldn’t wait that long. As this was the first book I had read by Emery Lord I’m looking forward to reading more of her stuff. Especially if she has more characters like the loveable swoon worthy Matt Finch.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

