Book Review | Flawed by Cecelia Ahern (ARC)

“I’ve learned that people aren’t cruel. Most people aren’t, anyway, apart from the Logans, the Colleens, the Gavins, and the Natashas of the world, but people are strong on self-preservation. And if something doesn’t directly affect them, they don’t get involved. I should know; I was like that up until last month.”

★★★★

4Book: Flawed (Flawed #1)
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Publication Date: March 24th 2016
Amazon UK: Flawed (Flawed #1)
Amazon US: Flawed (Flawed #1)
Book Depository: Flawed (Flawed #1)


Flawed is the first young adult novel by Cecelia Ahern. The story follows Celestine North who has always lived by the rules of society. In this society one of the rules is that everyone is expected to be perfect and if not they’re branded with the letter F for being flawed. Those who are flawed are outcast from society – they’re given curfews, a set diet to eat, and their own seats on the bus. There is also the rule the no more than two flawed people can be together in public. However, when Celestine sees an old man struggling to breathe on the bus while two women sit in seats allocated to the flawed she decides to stand up for him.

First of all thank you to the publishers and Netgalley for letting me read this book in exchange for an honest review. I have been a fan of Cecelia Ahern since I read PS. I Love You a few years ago. When I found out she was writing her first young adult novel I was so excited and I had every right to be. This is such a brilliant young adult novel and I can’t praise it enough. I read this book in about three days but I think if I wasn’t so busy I could have finished it within a day.

What originally pulled me towards the book, Cecelia Ahern aside, was the concept behind it. With the flawed being outcast from society I could help but think of Divergent with the Factionless. In this sense the story lines are pretty similar but Ahern’s novel stands strongly on it own. The whole concept of being branded as flawed is a really harsh punishment to bare but I don’t think it’s so different to real life. I mean I know we don’t get branded with the letter F or anything but there is a lot of pressure to be perfect.

I loved Celestine she was strong and determined like most YA heroines. With standing up for the old man she’s put into a really tough situation. She’s always believed that flawed people were flawed because no one would get branded for nothing, right? Now that she herself has been branded she starts to see a blur between the lines of what being flawed actually means. Espeically since she felt she was doing the right humane thing that anyone should have done.

Obviously being branded as flawed is such a huge thing not only for Celestine but her family. I loved how her family pulled together, like they should, and supported her. There was a strain on the relationship between her and her siblings but I expected this to happen. The relationship between Celestine and her parents was something I really loved. It kind of pulled through the message of how a parents love is unconditional and I liked that. As much as I loved reading the scenes with her and her mum it would have been really great to read more scenes with her and her dad.

I don’t think I have ever hated a character more than I did with Crevan. Reading it felt like he was fueled by revenge and hatred. All I wanted was for him to get what he deserved. Another character I wasn’t so fond of in the book was Art. Please don’t hate me. At the start I loved his relationship with Celestine and they really were a lovely couple but as the story went on I disliked him more and more. I do understand that he was in a difficult position with his dad being a judge of the flawed but he irritated me. There was a scene after Celestine was branded and they were talking. It was as if she hadn’t just gone through this really horrible awful thing and all he wanted was for her to get how her actions had affected him. That didn’t settle well with me and I’m hoping that my view of him will change in the next book.

My only downfall with this book is that it a lot like other YA books. A girl who has always followed the rules of society suddenly stands against them. She’s put into a situation where people are looking up to her but she doesn’t want them to. Even without thinking too hard I can already name several books that have a similar plot.

Overall I loved this book and I highly recommend it to anyone who was a fan of Divergent. I’m already looking forward to getting my hands on a copy of the next book to see what happens.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

