Let’s Talk About… Books I’d Love To See Adapted

This post is a little later than normal because I was at a friends house yesterday and ended up lying on her couch crying over Hook and Emma from Once Upon A Time. We’re halfway through season 5 so if you watch the show you’ll know why I was reduced to a blubbering mess. This week I thought I’d share with you a couple of books I’d really like to see either a TV or film adaptation of. What books you want to see adapted either on the big or small screen? Are there any books you don’t want to be adapted? Let me know in the comments below.

Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher16112830

I had to feature at least one book from Giovanna Fletcher. Although I absolutely love Dream A Little Dream I had to pick Billy and Me. I love the whole famous boy falls for small town girl – everyone has hoped it happens to them at some point. If you’re saying you haven’t then you must have bumped your head and forgotten about it. It’s such a sweet book and I would be really interested in seeing the local coffee shop where Sophie works come to life. Imagine seeing all those sweet treats and not having to imagine them.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

8This is my one of my favourite trilogies but the first book is obviously my favourite. You can’t read this book and not fall for Etienne. I’ll hold my hands up, the only reason I really want this adaptation is so I can fall in love with Etienne all over again. I mean I know their relationship was complicated and up and down A LOT but it was super sweet. Plus I’d really love to see the end of the book play out. If I’m having a really bad day I hunt out that book and re-read that scene over and over again. It’s so sweet and romantic and magical and I need to see that scene play out in my life. Someone pretty please make it happen.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher0

I read this book so fast I couldn’t not fall in love with it. I really loved that it was a treasure hunt in finding out the truth about what really happened. It was a very creative way to have things play out. I also really liked that you didn’t get to find out things until the main character did. I know there have been things flying around that this adaptation could actually be happening and if they’re true that’d be super great. Please let it all be true.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

1This book broke my heart into a million tiny pieces. Seriously I’m still trying to put my heart back together after this book. It was so beautifully written and equally beautifully tragic that you can’t not rave about it. I’m a little in love with books that contain notes and letters throughout so obviously I loved this book for that reason. I think that, if done the right way, this could work out perfectly as an adaptation. I’d happily have my heart broken again by this book if anyone wanted to make this adaptation happen.

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare2

You know when you love a book so much that you want everyone to read it so they can love it too but you’re also terrified to tell in case the hate it? That’s how I was with this series. In terms of getting an adaptation for this series, I would love it to happen. But, and it’s a pretty big but, I feel really protective over this series in particular. I love Will and I love Jem pretty much like everyone else who has read this series. However, as much as I want this to be adapted I’m worried that it would be given the justice that it deserves.


Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Goodreads | Pinterest

11 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Books I’d Love To See Adapted

  1. I completely agree with Clockwork Angel, it would be so good! The setting would look BEAUTIFUL. I read Anna, and I just couldn’t get into it… I can imagine it as a cute tv series though, even if I didn’t end up watching it

    • I need an Anna and the French Kiss movie like I need air. I’d even settle for someone just filming the gorgeous end scene, haha. I’m so glad I’m not the only one wanting a TID adapation but also worried about at TID adaption. I know what you mean I’m always like please do it justice. I feel I get extra worried if it’s a series I really loved. Purley because it’s rude to adapt one book and then leave the rest. 🙂

  2. I love books that have letters and notes too. I had read historical fiction vampire books by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro and they have letters in them. What I would love to have as movies are the Incarceron book series.

    • I think it’s like a really sweet extra touch to add. The first book I remember really loving way back when I was around 11 was P.S Longer Letter Later and I think that’s maybe where my love of notes and letters came from. I’d honestly go buy a book just because it’s told through notes or letters. I think it’s one of the reasons I loved The Sky is Everywhere so much, have you read that? I never actually heard of them before but I’ve just looked them up on Goodreads and the first book sounds great. I’ve added it to my tbr list. 🙂

  3. Strongly agree that The Infernal Devices should be adapted, preferably into a TV show. I’m terrified of them doing justice to the source content though…have you seen Shadowhunters, the TV show?

    • I haven’t watched Shadowhunters yet. I watched the teaser clip and I didn’t like it, it seemed cheesy and stuff. Although lots of people have told me it gets better so I will get around to giving it a shot but it’ll probably be in the summer now. I agree with you although if they’re adapting TID I think it’ll work better as a TV show than film.

    • You need to get your hands on a copy of this book it’s fab. I read the book pretty quick and afterwards I was like, right she’s my favourite person. Plus she loves nutella as much as I do which is a lovely bonus! 🙂 Hope you enjoy the read when you get yourself a copy.

Leave a Reply

