Bloguest 2016 | Bookstores I want to visit – DeliriousDreams

Hello, dear people of the Internet! My name is Kira, I blog under the name  DeliriousDreams and I am very excited to be a part of Bloguest again this year!! 🙂

My topic is “Bookstores I want to visit”. That topic caught my eye very quickly. I think that is such an interesting thing to talk about since there are so many beautiful and magical bookstores in this world.  I will introduce to the ones I would like to visit one day. It was very hard for me to reduce my selection to 5 Bookstores. I initially had more than 20 picked out, I will mention the other Bookstores at the end of the post. I also tried to pick out bookstores around the world, so that you all might find one near you.

To me, a bookstore is a magical place. A place where I can just “get lost”. Every time I walk into a bookstore, I get overwhelmed. So many amazing books in one place, it just feels like home! And then there are these special bookstores, which look like you have just arrived in book heaven. Those bookstores that make your heart beat faster, you step inside and it just takes your breath away….

1. Cărtureşti Carusel in Bucharest, Romania

The “Cărtureşti Carusel” is located in Bucharest, Romania. The bookstore is in a very old building, a bulding from the 19th Century, which was restored. I personally think it looks stunning. “Cărtureşti Carusel” means “Carousel of Light”, very fittingromania BS in my opinion, it was opened in February 2015. The bookstore has six floors (about 10,760 sq. ft) and holds more than 10,000 books and 5,000 Music Albums & DVDs! There’s also a bistro on the top floor and a contemporary art gallery & media space on the main floor & basement. It says they are used for cultural events and concerts. I would love to visit this bookstore. It just looks amazing and there’s so much you can do! Grab a book, grab food, maybe even see some live music! Fabulous.

2. Boekhandel Selexyz Dominicanen in Maastricht, Holland.

This bookstore is located in Maastricht, Netherlands. The store is Netherlandsinside an old church, the oldest gothic church of the Netherlands to be exact! Apparently, the church is from the 13th Century. They have about 20,000 books for sale. They sell fiction books, but mostly science  and law books. There is also a reading cafe inside. In 2008 it was named the most beautiful bookstore in the world!! I really like that the store is inside an old gothic church! It looks really cool and special. I have a thing for old buildings and this one is just so pretty and cool. I also read, that the church was consecrated in 1249, but hasn’t been in a religious function since 1794. That’s because the church was confiscated by Napoleon’s army that year. It was turned into a bookstore in 2005. Books, old building, history! Amazing combination, which is why this is my number 2!

3. El Ateneo in  Buenos Aires, Argentina       

This breathtaking bookstore is located in Buenos Aires and it was placed as the second most beautiful bookstore in the world in 2008. As you can see, the Argentina Storebuilding was built to be a theatre. It was first opened in 1919 as a theatre (called “Teatro Gran Splendid“) and seated 1,050 people. In the 1920’s it was restored to be a cinema, and in 2000 it was turned into a bookstore. It has 21,000 ft sq and the former theatre stage was turned into a café. This bookstore is honestly one of the most breathtaking places I have ever seen. I HAVE to visit this place. I might faint when I see it live, but it would be so worth it!! 😀 I read online, that the atmosphere inside must be incredible. Someone wrote that they play french jazz music inside. So cool!

4. Eslite Dunnan Store in Taipei, Taiwan   

This bookstore is actually a bookstore chain! It’s located in Taiwan 48 times, in Hong Kong 3 times and in China 3 times. It was founded in 1989 in Taiwan. Except for taiwan BSone bookstore, all stores sell a wide capacity of genres. But out of the 48 branches in Taiwan, one specialized in children books. It’s a 24-hour bookstore, so you could even go there by night which I think is fun. For foreign shoppers, Eslite offers a 5% discount when purchasing over NT$1,000 (New Taiwan Dollar). That’s about 28€, 32USD, 23GBP & 41AUD. It’s important that you can prove that you’re a foreigner, to get the discount! So have your passport handy!! 🙂 Even though I like old buildings, I still like new ones too! And this one looks so modern and classy, I just fell in love with it.

5. Livraria Lello & Irmao in Porto, Portugal

And last but not least, Livraria Lello & Irmao. This beauty was established in 1869. It’s said, that the bookstore inspired J.K. Rowling when she wrote Harry Potter. That’s right. In the 90’s, our Queen J.K. lived in Porto and taught English. It’s said thPortufal BSat she visited the store and was inspired by it. (It really reminds me of HP as well!!) The bookstore offers Portuguese literature, political literature, poetry & postcards. They also have a bar where they serve you port wine. I think it’s obvious why this one is on my list. Harry Potter. It really does remind me of Hogwarts, or is it just me? Even if it didn’t remind me of HP, it’s still incredibly beautiful and definitely worth a visit! Also, you can find a 360-degree tour of the store HERE


As I mentioned earlier, I had to narrow my bookstores down to 5. But I still want to mention other bookstores that I found, that way you can easier find one near you.

Shakespeare and Company (Paris, France), Cook & Book (Brussels, Belgium), Libreria Alta Acqua (Venice, Italy), Rizzoli Bookstore (New York, USA), Leakey’s Bookshop (Inverness, Scotland), Kay Craddock Antiquarian Booksellers (Melbourne, Australia)

Obviously, there are even more of amazing bookstores in the world! But hopefully, I was able to introduce you to a few, that you hadn’t heard of before 🙂

Let me know if you have already visited one of these bookstores, or if you’re planning on visiting one!!


I hope you enjoyed reading this, I definitely had fun writing this! Thanks to Kayleigh for letting me do this!! 🙂 I always love being a part of this. You can find me on almost every Social Media Website, so feel free to follow me if you want to!

Thanks for reading xo

Instagram   Twitter   Tumblr  Goodreads   Fictionpress   WordPress

9 thoughts on “Bloguest 2016 | Bookstores I want to visit – DeliriousDreams

  1. Okay who wants to sponsor me so I can visit all these 😂 Okay besides the one in The Netherlands of course 😛 I’ve been there and it was really gorgeous inside!

Leave a Reply

